Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 100 was The Land of Decoration by Grace McCleen. It is the story of a 10-year-old daughter of  a single father who has built in her room a Land of Decoration, a miniature “world” that mirrors the real world. Judith McPherson is a bright girl but rather isolated from other children due to her father’s religious beliefs and so she has created this parallel world in her room as her world.

One night at their congregation meeting, they heard a speaker who told them they could do miracles if they only had faith. Judith truly believed this and created a snow storm in the Land of Decoration and a snow storm actually occurred in the real world. Judith thought that she had created a miracle. She did it again and it kept snowing, then she took the snow away and it stopped snowing. She also started to hear the voice of God around this time and began to have conversations with Him. She wrote all her experiences down in her journal which she kept under the floorboard of her room.

A boy at school had been tormenting Judith and she made a model of him and put him in the Land of Decoration and had some harm come to him. Neil read in Judith’s exercise book that she thought she could do miracles which was why he tormented her. He and some other boys then not only tormented her at school but also began attacking her home in the evenings and causing vandalism, which sent her father over the edge, particularly since there was a strike at the factory that he did not participate in and was ostracized for being a scab. Things just went downhill for the McPhersons with the vandalism and the tormenting, and Judith hearing God. This reached a crisis point and there had to be an intervention by the members of their congregation. But the crisis wasn’t over. One hundred down, 25 to go.

m

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    What a cool cover!
    You always share the best reads!

Leave a Reply

