What Is The Most Precious Thing You’ve Ever Lost


The most precious thing I’ve ever lost is my trust in people. I guess trust isn’t necessarily a thing, but it is the most precious to me and I’ve lost it through a series of betrayals by people I loved and trusted completely. The worst betrayal was from my second husband. I had racked up credit card bills on my own credit cards and was prepared to work out some way to pay them off and take care of my debts. He was understandably angry with me, but told me he would not divorce me but we went through a period of about two weeks of not speaking (his not speaking to me). One night I arrived home from a 120 mile commute from work to find a process server in my driveway to serve me with divorce papers while my husband stood by watching from the porch. He had lied to me, and instead of discussing the breakup of our marriage, he ambushed me. It was cowardly. And helped to destroy my trust in people whom I loved.

My daughter and her husband also helped to destroy my trust in people I love. I was taking care of their house and animals while they were away and unfortunately one of their dogs bit me and the bite became infected and I had to seek medical treatment. Also unfortunately, the dog had not had his shots and the doctor had to report the bite and I had to take the dog to his vet for his shots and to have him quarantined  for 5 days. When my daughter and her family arrived home, they were naturally upset that their dog was in quarantine, but not at all concerned about my infection. In fact, my daughter asked me to leave her house before her husband threw me out of the house, he was so angry.  I trusted that my daughter would always love me and accept ,e and care about me, but we didn’t speak for nearly a month afterwards. Never mind that I paid for the dog’s shots and quarantine.  She never called to see how my infection was nor to thank me for caring for her other animals and the house. It felt like I didn’t exist.

Those two incidents prompted me to lose my trust in people in general. I don’t trust people because the people I loved most in the world turned on me and hurt and betrayed me. Trust in people is the most precious thing I have lost.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is The Most Precious Thing You’ve Ever Lost

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m sending you a cyber-hug because you need to know that there are still good, trustworthy people in this world.

  2. judithhb says:

    Oh Marie. How very awful for you but please be assured that there are many, many people out there who you can trust.

Leave a Reply

