Book and Film Challenge Update


The fourteenth film the granddaughters and I saw was The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It is the story of a group of high school students, “misfit toys,” who are on the fringe of their school who have formed their own group and band together to support one another. The main characters are Charlie, Sam and her step-brother Patrick. Charlie is a freshman while the others are seniors but they accept Charlie as an equal. They experience the trials and tribulations of high school, the sexual and drug pressures, the issue of homosexuality, the problem of getting into college–all the normal things high school students experience. This movie is a sensitive look at a group of kids who get through their year of high school, and particularly at Charlie, who has emotional problems, and his friends who stand by him. It’s a great movie. Go see it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    I heard this was great film. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

