All Saints’ Day Hodgepodge (or Halloween One Day Late)


Before we dive in to this week’s Hodgepodge I have got to give a massive thanks to Joyce who has relentlessly given us 8 super questions each week for the past 100 weeks, and has brought us this week’s hodgepodge despite being in the eye of Hurricane Sandy. I salute you Joyce!!!

Here we go for the 100th Wednesday Hodgepodge. As ever, if you fancy having a go click the button below and follow Joyce’s instructions.

 

 

1.  What creeps you out?

Maggots. Worms of any kind. Creepy, crawly things. Clumps of hair clogging the drains. Is that enough?

2.  What’s your least favourite candy?

Lindor dark chocolate truffles. I especially like the raspberry ones. I also have discovered (for run-of-the-mill candy) that Kit Kat makes a dark chocolate version which is great.

3. Are you a fan of scary movies?  What’s the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?

I’m not into scary movies, but the scariest movie I ever saw was The Omen, probably because I was drunk at the tine. The scariest movie I saw sober was The Exorcist. The scariest movie I liked was The Sixth Sense.

4.  What part of life confuses you the most?

I’m most confused by our tax system in the US. How millionaires can pay lower tax rates than working people because they are taxed at a lower rate on their investments and don’t work boggles my mind. The way Mitt Romney can say with pride that he has not paid less than 13% tax infuriates me when my tax rate is much higher and I am much poorer than he is. What a screwd up system!

5. Pumpkin, sunflower, sesame, poppy…your favorite seed?

I like poppy seeds on bread but I like toasted pumpkin seeds with cinnamon and sugar.

6. Imagine your life ten years from today…what’s changed?

I will be ten years older. I hope I will remain healthy but I know my kidneys will be functioning less well. My granddaughters will have graduated from university. Jackie will be a nurse and Cassie an orthodontist. Maybe I’ll have great-grandchildren. I hope I’ll still be living on my own and tutoring at the elementary school and working for CASA. And knitting and painting and doing mosaics and reading everything in sight.

7.  What do you a) love most and b) like least about the Hodgepodge?

a) I love the diversity of the questions. They are always things I’m not expecting and make me think.

b) I can’t think of anything I don’t like. I always copy and link off Mushy Cloud’s blog.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Halloween is quite quiet in my apartment complex. They have a little party for the kids in the community center and then no one goes round knocking on doors so I don’t ever give out candy. I usually buy a bag “just in case” but this year I didn’t even do that. So it didn’t feel like Halloween. I didn’t even dress up the dogs, which I’m sure they appreciated.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All Saints’ Day Hodgepodge (or Halloween One Day Late)

  1. The Hook says:

    Late or not, I loved this one! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

