Six Word Saturday


Time For Another Language Studio Session

I’m studying French through Rosetta Stone. This is not my first go-round with French. I took four years of French in high school and was quite good at reading and writing it by the time I’d graduated, but not so good at speaking it.

I love the French language. I don’t know why. It’s not easy to pronounce. The gender of the nouns makes no sense to English speakers. But still I love it and decided to relearn the language and really learn to speak it properly this time round.

To that end, besides the speaking exercises in the Rosetta Stone course, they include Studio Sessions after every two lessons in a unit. This is a personal native speaker whom you see on the screen and you and one or two other students talk to in the language with prompts based on pictures and questions from the mentor. You HAVE TO speak the language because it’s all in French. If you don’t understand, you say so in French and te mentor tries to explain in another way. I was really nervous for my first session, but really enjoyed it. It wasn’t that difficult if you had done the lessons and studied.

Today’s session is my third this week. That’s a lot. I had to kind of lump them together because i was having microphone issues and missed scheduling earlier sessions. I expect this one to be a bit more difficult for me than the last two. But the mentor are good. They have tremendous patience and great humour as they pput up with our improper prononciation and grammar, and offer gentle corrections.

So I look forward to my Studio Session today. Wish me “Bonne Chance”!

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Word Saturday

  1. The Hook says:

    Once again, you have delighted me with your antics, young lady! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

