Six Word Saturday


I’m Off To The Swine Show!

Six_Word_Saturday

Today I’m off to the showing of swine, goats, rabbits, cattle, and assorted other animals but mostly I’m going for the swine. Me–a Muslim–going to a swine showing. One of my CASA children, who turns 10 tomorrow (the birthday party is tomorrow–another 86 mile round-trip) has two pigs she is raising and this is her first showing of her pigs and she has invited me to attend it. It is for 4-H club. 4-H is for heart, health, hands, and home and encourages children to raise animals and make food and lead healthy lives. It is run through the school in the rural areas. Maddy’s foster family has been involved in 4-H for years and they have many animals. Maddy has raised these two pigs since they were about 40 pounds and now they are close to 200 pounds. Her foster family will be there and I hope I don’t get lost. It’s out in the countryside but in the town of LaVernia so I should be able to find it. I have good directions and the foster mother’s cell phone number if I get hopelessly lost. I don’t want to disappoint Maddy. She’s quite excited about her first showing. I hope they (the pigs) behave and do well.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Word Saturday

  1. That’s a nice thing you are doing and I’m sure she will appreciate it.

  2. The Hook says:

    You’re a sweet gal, you know that?

Leave a Reply

