Marshmallow Hodgepodge (A Bit Late–The Cocoa Was Too Hot)


Marshmallow HoIt’s a Marshmallow World in the Hodgepodge

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  Be sure to add your link at the end of Joyce’s original post before you get back to your shopping and wrapping.  Pop in on some of the other players too, because who doesn’t need a little Christmas cheer in the middle of their week?

Here are my answers-

1.  So, when did you last take a walk in the woods? A stroll along the beach? A drive going nowhere in particular in the car?

The last time was too long ago. It was a year ago October when I went to Port Aransas, Texas for a holiday at the beach. I was able to take long walks alone on the beach unencumbered by other people since it wasn’t high season and there were very few people around. It was heavenly. The weather was beautiful–sunny and warm, not hot, and breezy with the ocean breezes coming in off the water. How I miss it! I didn’t have the funds nor the time to go this year. Maybe next year?

2.  Are you sending Christmas cards this year?  About how many do you send?  Photo card or something more traditional?  How do you display the cards you receive? 

I sent out about 50 Christmas cards this year, mostly to relatives and friends who live quite a distance from me. On some, particularly to elderly aunts and friends, I write an update on happenings in the family such as the birth of a new baby. I send traditional cards. I usually send cards drawn by children who are being treated for cancer at M.D. Anderson Cancer Treatment Center in Houston, Texas but I was unable to find them this year and was terribly disappointed as I like to support this charity. I really don’t display the cards i receive. They just pile up, like everything in my house. I like getting photos of the children of friends. I love to see how they’ve grown and how they resemble their parents.

3. What’s a word you’ve heard too much of in the past week?

I have heard the term “fiscal cliff” more than I care to hear in the past several weeks and unfortunately will hear it for the next few more weeks as the ridiculous politicians squabble and argue over tax cuts for the wealthy and budget cuts that will undoubtedly hurt all of us, especially the unemployed, the poor, and seniors. These fools refuse to compromise or negotiate and the “fiscal cliff” looms nearer every day. Then we’ll all be in deep doo-doo. And whose fault will it be? The fault of all the politicians in Washington, D.C. of BOTH parties. They bear equal blame for this. Maybe the GOP a little more with their firm stand on no tax increase for the wealthiest Americans who don’t work and only pay a low tax on investment income. They could surely give a little on this issue. The rest of us–the 98% who work and pay substantially a higher rate–feel that these rich folks should carry their fair share. Well, most of us do.

4. December 13th is National Cocoa Day-are you a fan?  Plain or flavoured?  Marshmallows or no marshmallows?

I adore hot cocoa. Plain hot cocoa made with good Dutch cocoa is to die for. But I could live without the marshmallows. They’re okay. I can take them or leave them, but I’d rather have whipped cream.

5. What is something you do to help alleviate the hectic pace of the Christmas season?

I order nearly everything online. And I do it early. I start Christmas shopping in October and am done by early December with just a few things to buy, which are just extras. December is left for my CASA kids because it takes a while to figure out what they would really like. My teenage granddaughters are easy now because they like cash with a few trinkets thrown in. Plus they have December birthdays so they get presents then as well.

6. Besides jewellery, what’s a favourite sparkly-glittery item in your home or closet?

I have a very sparkly tunic and pants that I like to wear that has “jewels” and glitterly braid on it that I love. I also have a red sweater with pearls and beads that is quite fancy and that I like quite a bit.

7. Share a favourite line or two from any Christmas carol.

“Star of wonder, star of light; star with royal beauty bright. Westward leading still proceeding, guide us to the perfect site.”  from We Three Kings Of Orient Are

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I have lived in Texas for nearly 20 years now but I can’t get used to Christmas without cold weather. When we lived in New York, there were Christmases without snow (and we were really disappointed) but they were always cold. It felt like Christmas because there had been snow before Christmas. But here there is never snow. We had a freeze here two nights ago–30 degrees F–and everyone was in a panic. Literally. It was the major story on the TV news. One would have thought that the world was about to end. Today we’re back to 60 degrees and everyone thinks it’s cold. It’s weird, I tell you. These people don’t know cold. 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marshmallow Hodgepodge (A Bit Late–The Cocoa Was Too Hot)

  1. The Hook says:

    This was pretty brilliant, i must say!

Leave a Reply

