Saturday Mornings


My Saturday mornings are usually pretty laid back. I am an early riser so I say my morning prayers early and then walk the dogs. I check up emails (and there are a LOT of them in my two email accounts, many of them blogs i follow. You know who you are!). So it takes a while to get through them. Then I may go to the drug store to pick up supplies (I avoid the regular grocery stores at all costs) and sometimes go to the Post Office. I watch the Saturday morning news as I perform my morning e-tasks. Then I may read or right now knit cowls for my granddaughters for Christmas.

Today is a bit different. Yesterday was the horrific mass murder of the children and teachers in Connecticut. I have had the television on and listened to the news reporting from Connecticut and my heart is breaking. I have spent part of the morning ordering flowers for my daughter and sister but my heart isn’t in it as I think about the parents of children and the families of the teachers in Connecticut. I have written several long emails to my good friend Alan in New York City with whom I have been friends since grammar school. We correspond and bounce ideas off one another every day. Usually our emails are short and to the point but sometimes they are lengthy and either one of us can get on a rant about something. Well, today was my day to rant about gun control in this country and the accessibility of guns in two different emails to Alan.

It was my day to wonder why these mass killings happen with such regularity in our country and no other and why we put up with them. Why we do nothing about them and allow them to continue and kowtow to the gun lobby and the gun industry and allow guns to be purchased relatively freely by just about anyone and fall into the hands of mentally unbalanced people even though they are purchased by so-called sane people. Does everyone who wants a gun need a gun? Really? Do we really need to protect ourselves? On Thursday, a 4-year-old boy shot himself in the head with his father’s handgun that was kept in the night table–for protection. Yes, it should have been in a locked safe. But there are some who say that it is then not accessible in an “emergency.” I live in Texas and hear these arguments all the time. To talk about limiting guns is to talk about ripping the heart out of someone. At least it is here.

But is this tragedy finally the tipping point? Do we finally say, “Enough!” Stop the slaughter of innocents whose only crime was to go to school or go to the movies or go to the mall or go to the temple? Have we have reached our limit of this insanity? Have we finally realized that we cannot ensure that legally obtained guns will not fall into the hands of mentally unbalanced people? Will we finally have a discussion on the ownership of guns and the availability of guns in this country? Those were the thrust of my emails to Alan, so they took a while while I ranted.

I eventually ordered my flowers and plants for my family, which also took some time, so I haven’t gotten to the drug store nor to the Post Office where I need to buy stamps for my international postcards that I exchange in a postcard exchange. This morning I also have to wrap a gift for one of my CASA kids, Maddy, and take it to her. She lives about an hour away so that takes up a good chunk of the morning to get there by 11 a.m. So I’ll stop at the drug store on the way home and leave the Post Office (and the bank–that was on today’s agenda, too) for Monday.

So there you have my typical Saturday and why today is not a typical Saturday. I wish with all my heart it had been a typical Saturday, even though one Saturday a month I do go to visit my CASA child Maddy and that takes up most of the morning. That’s a pleasant thing to do and today I will hug her more tightly when I see her and say a thank-you prayer that she is safe.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

