Five Question Friday–Wwaayy Late!!


fivequestionfriday

Well, it’s Monday–four days after Friday and after a horrific weekend for America, but I need some normalcy, so here goes:

1. If you bake during the holidays, what is your favorite thing to make?

Well, I don’t normally bake but I do MAKE, and what I make is fudge. I use a very simple recipe that is non-cook and turns out the most delicious creamy fudge. Here it is:

Melt 3 cups dark chocolate chips, 1 can sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 tsp salt together. Cool. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Line a square pan with foil. Pour in mixture. Chill 4 hours. lift out of pan by foil and peel off. Come to room temperature and cut into squares.

2. Present giving: Gift bag vs wrapped box?

I hate wrapping gifts and am not very good at it. I would much rather put them in a bag but this year I will be using a combination of the two. I also have my gifts gift-wrapped online when possible (and I shop a lot online). I also found a rather unique way to wrap a special gift of Taylor Swift tickets (well a voucher for the tickets; they won’t be mailed until May before the concert) for my granddaughters–I’m knitting little “purses” that will hold the vouchers.

3. What do you keep your thermostat on during the winter/summer in your house?

In the winter, I keep the house at 70 F; in the summer, I keep it at about 78 F.

4. When thinking of your “Christmas to-do list” what percentage “done” are you?

I thought I was done until last Thursday when my granddaughter texted me that her mother really wanted a fondue set. Do you know how hard fondue sets were to find? I had to Google them and finally found them at Macy’s and ordered them online. I wasn’t going to go running up to Macy’s only to find the store didn’t carry them. So even though I had already gotten her presents, I got the fondue set. It should arrive early this week. Then I’m DONE.

5. Do you do the “Elf on a Shelf”? If so, is your Elf naughty and what shenanigans has he gotten into?

Honestly, I have never heard of “Elf on the Shelf.” And I am probably glad I haven’t. Maybe because I’m retured and don’t go to work and my volunteer organizations don’t do it either.

Merry Christmas to everyone and I hope you get your shopping done this week and aren’t madly dashing about next Monday.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Question Friday–Wwaayy Late!!

  1. Your fudge recipe sounds so easy, I have printed it out and I’m going to try it.

Leave a Reply

