Thursday Hodgepodge–Again


Welcome to my Hodgepodge entry for this week. If you want to play along please visit Joyce here and follow her instructions. Welcome aboard, let’s go for it!!

hodgepodge button big

1.  How will you spend ‘the night before Christmas’?

We will be following a Samson family tradition where the Samson grandparents (that would be me) goes to the home of the grandchildren (that would be Jacquilyn and Cassandra) to open family gifts. Our own personal twist is that Nana (that would be me) brings Chinese food for dinner. That’s our Christmas Eve.

2.  What is something you are not?

I am not a very social person. I get very anxious in social situations and tend to avoid especially large social gatherings.

3.  Fudge-are you a fan?  Your favourite flavour?

I LOVE LOVE LOVE fudge, especially my grandmother’s recipe for fudge which I shared the other day in a post. And which I’ll share again for those who missed it the first time: Melt 3 cups of dark chocolate chips, i can of sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 tsp salt together. Cool. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Line a square pan with foil. Pour in mixture. Chill 4 hours. Lift out of pan by foil and peel off foil. Come to room temperature and cut into squares. (You can also melt in a cup of marshmallows if you like.) That’s my favorite flavor–dark chocolate.

4. Did you attend any craft/vendor fairs in the month of December?  Do you prefer homemade goodies or the more professional stalls?  Are you giving any homemade gifts this year? 

I didn’t attend any craft/vendor fairs this December. There is a big one in the small town of Fredericksburg, Texas every year but it is always so crowded that it is a pain to go. I like the homemade goodies, but I also enjoy the more professional stalls. They are all wonderful. I am giving homemade gifts this year. I am giving knitted cowls made of organic cotton to my granddaughters this year as well as two little knitted “purses” that will hold tickets to the Taylor Swift concert that will take place in here in May and that I paid an arm and a leg for. That’s their “big” Christmas gift.

5. What’s your favourite type of holiday gathering?

Family gatherings or informal gatherings with friends are my favorite types of gatherings.

6. We’re approaching a new year…what’s going to be different in 2013?

I hope that i will be less anxious in 2013. I’ve had a bad problem with anxiety this past year, but a new med and a supplement seem to be helping and I have great hopes that these will take care of the problem. I also hope that things will work out for the best for my CASA kids when their case goes to court in February and that I can be a good peer coordinator for CASA.

7. Share a favourite scripture, quote, saying, or song lyric relating to peace. 

 “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God”. Matthew 5:9

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 
dt-common-streams-streamserverI love to play my CDs by Nowell Sing We Clear, a group from the eastern part of the United States who sing and play Christmas and winter music from 17th and 18th century England and the United States. It’s beautiful and fun and we used to go to see them each year when they came for a concert each year when we lived in New York State. They have only recently released their music on CD and I found it last year and I’m so happy.

If you’ve been inspired to complete your own Hodgepodge this week please hop over to Joyce and follow her instructions. Happy Hodgepodge!!!

Like it? Share it!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

