Daily Prompt–Immortalized In Stone


Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing, or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

Newtown Connecticut shootingWhat more fitting event should be immortalized in stone to remember 2012 than the deaths of the 26 innocent souls in Newtown, Connecticut? No, I’m not from Newtown; I’m from San Antonio, Texas, but like most of us throughout the country, I was deeply moved by the horrific events in Newtown. How could you not be?

My statue would be of 20 small children of ages six and seven gathered around six women, ages 20s to 60 years old who are gathering them in their arms, protecting the children. The children are not scared; they trust these women to protect them. The women are also not scared; they are brave and strong.

This statue represents the best characteristics of the teachers and administrators who died that horrible day in Newtown. They died heroes, protecting their small charges. They were brave, strong women who cared not for their own safety but for that of the children in their care. And the children in their care trusted them. Even though their best efforts were not enough to protect them from the killing rampage of a mentally unbalanced young man, the children trusted. And the children who survived trusted, too. Maybe the children who died also represent all the children of Newtown and the thousands of school children everywhere in America who trust their teachers administrators and the women represent all the teachers and administrators of Newtown and the schools throughout America who bravely protect their children every day they are in their care.

For me personally, these 26 souls forever immortalized in stone remind me to work to prevent another such occurrence in another school or shopping mall or theater or church or street corner. I have committed myself to work for a ban on assault-type guns and multiple-round clips of ammunition. I have signed petitions. I will go next week to talk to the manager of my local Walmart, bring a flier, and ask him or her to stop the sale of assault-type guns and multiple-ammunition clips. It’s time for me to take action as well as just talk and sign petitions. I am normally not a confrontational person. But I need to do this. I believe in this. Newtown has touched me to my core. It has changed me forever. It is immortalized in my heart, if not in stone.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Immortalized in Stone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

