Daily Prompt–The Early Years


Write page three of your autobiography.

Connie was my best friend in grammar school. We were inseparable. Connie came from an Irish-American family and loved all things Irish. Each year for St. Patrick’s Day, she taught us Irish jigs and reels and Irish songs, and we loved them.

We often spent the night at each other’s houses. When we did, we often played “nun.” I had a book that listed all the orders of nuns in the United States and we would pour over it and look at the various orders and decide which ones we would like to belong to, based on their habits and their requirements. Sometimes we would give each other penances. Sometimes these would take the form of physical punishment. One day at my house, we had a thin stick that we used to hit each other with for our penance. Connie got a bit too into the whole thing and she hit me a little too hard and I started to cry. So we abandoned the physical punishment as being a bit too severe.

When we stayed at Connie’s house, we often made our own magazines by cutting out articles and pictures from other magazines and using flour and water paste to paste them on sheets of paper to make our own new and improved magazines. We only used articles that were important to us–articles about the Kennedys, movie stars, recording artists. We made very good magazines. Sometimes we even let Connie’s little sister help.

The most memorable night that I spent at Connie’s house was the night that Jackie Kennedy gave birth prematurely to baby Patrick Kennedy. We stayed up half the night praying for the tiny baby’s survival and cried buckets full of tears when we learned that the baby had died.

Connie and I also sang and performed together at my Christmas piano recital one year. We sang and I played the piano for “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.” We both enjoyed singing Christmas songs together in school. We also enjoyed the Easter songs and the May songs to the Blessed Mother.

My friendship with Connie ended, unfortunately, when we went to different high schools. I desperately wanted to go to the same high school as she was going to, but my parents wanted me to go to the other girls’ Catholic high school in the city which was a bit more prestigious. We lost touch until a couple of years ago when we reconnected and now email each other and keep track of each other’s lives. I’m glad to have found my best friend again.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Early Years and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

