Daily Prompt–Flawed


What is your worst quality?

What is my worst quality? It’s hard to choose the worst quality because I have so many bad ones, but I suppose the root cause of many of the others is my ability to procrastinate. I tend to put off those things I don’t like to do, don’t feel like doing, hate to do, things that make my anxiety worse, you name it, I put it off. It leads to my cluttered, messy house. It leads to me signing up for classes that I don’t go to. It leads to wrapping Christmas presents at the last minute on Christmas Eve. It leads to not finishing the Christmas knitting for my granddaughters by Christmas so that their cowls will have to be Little Christmas gifts. It leads to boxes piling up in the garage instead of being taken out to the trash bins where they belong. It leads to losing things that I’ve bought in the clutter and buying duplicates of things when I can’t find those things I know I’ve bought. It leads to the inability to find certain clothes that I want to wear but have no idea where they might be–in the dirty clothes pile or the clean clothes pile or in the closet where they should be.

Procrastination is a curse that I live with and is a function of my problem with anxiety and also a cause of my anxiety. It is by far my worst quality. If I could get a handle on it, I could solve a lot of my problems (see above). But I really don’t think it will happen all at once. Maybe gradually. Maybe if I put off one less thing at a time. Maybe.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Procrastination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

