Thursday (Also Known As Wednesday) Hodgepodge


The first Hodgepodge of a brand new year…thanks for playing along!  Add your link to the bottom of Joyce’s post and make sure you go and visit the neighbours too.  Here are my answers~

Wednesday HodgepodgeClick here to join in with Joyce’s Hodgepodge

1.  How did you ring in the New Year?

I am so boring. I feel asleep for most of the evening and woke up at 11:30, took the dogs out (I was worried they would be frightened at all the fireworks that the neighbors wer shooting off but they weren’t; they are only concerned when someone knocks on the students’ door next door to ours). Then I came in, got ready for bed, and turned on the television, and watched the fireworks from “Celebrate San Antonio” on Channel 4 until they were over. Then I went to bed. So I didn’t exactly “ring” in the New Year. It sort of quietly came in and then I went to sleep.

2.  What is one thing you are looking forward to in 2013?

I’m looking forward to being a Peer Coordinator in CASA (Court-Appointed Special Advocates for children) in the Family Court system. In this volunteer organization, I will be taking some responsibility off the paid CASA supervisors by supervising three new advocates and their cases by helping them with their questions and advising them as necessary. I’m also looking forward to watching my granddaughters perform with their Pep Squad in their annual competition in late February or early March. I look forward to reading more and doing more knitting. I also look forward to becoming more actively involved in working toward an assault weapons ban.

3.  Steven Spielberg is quoted as saying, ‘All of us every single year, we’re a different person. I don’t think we’re the same person all our lives.’ What say you? 

I agree. This past yea, this past month, has changed my outlook on life tremendously. I have made it a priority in my life to work actively to secure a ban on assault-type weapons and clips that hold large rounds of ammunition. To that end, no only have I signed petitions (easy to do), but I have made phone calls to Walmart, a hugh marketer of weapons and ammunition, and visited the managers of Walmart stores to deliver fliers and ask the managers personally to stop the sale of these items. This isn’t easy for me since I am not I confrontational person by nature, but it is something I feel very strongly about, especially since the Sandy Hook massacre and the massacre in Aurora, CO. These events have changed my life and, though tragic, have made me a better person. I am resolved to do more acts of kindness and to work for a safer America by limiting the access to assault-style weapons.

4.  The Pantone colour of the year for 2013 is emerald green. Like or dislike?  Do you already own something this colour?  Will you add something in this shade to your home or wardrobe in 2013?

I do like it and I do own one piece of clothing in this color, though it is rather formal. I will look for an emerald green tunic top (kurti) to add to my wardrobe. That would be nice.

5.  Speaking of emerald…what’s your favourite gemstone?

I love topaz (my birthstone) and rubies.

6.  Share a favourite book or movie from 2012.

thelandofdecorationA favorite book was The Land of Decoration by Grace McCleen. It is the story of a young girl named Judith, who is motherless and who lives with her very religious father. She has built a parallel world of bits of rubbish in her bedroom and believes that what she creates in The Land of Decoration comes true. She is bullied by boys in her school and these boys have launched attacks against her home and her father. Judith believes it is all her fault. The story revolves around Judith’s attempts to control her world and her failures and her ultimate reconnection with her father.

perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movieOne of my favorite movies this year was The Perks of Being A Wallflower. It is a coming-of-age film. The teens (or young adults, really; Emma Watson stars) are totally believable as confused teens trying to find their way during a year in high school. The book, which is one my “to read” list, is supposed to be great but the movie was truly wonderful.

7.  What is something you want to tell yourself at the start of this brand new year?

Everything will be all right.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

It was a quiet Christmas and New Year but they were both without the anxiety I usually feel at this time of the year. I thank my dear friend Alen for his great suggestion about Christmas Eve with my family complete with Chinese food, even though it didn’t work out exactly as I had planned it out in my mind and we now have a new tradition. I have just about completed the granddaughters’ cowls for Little Christmas ahead of time and have Saturday to put the finishing touches on them. For this I am extremely grateful. I hope they like them.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday (Also Known As Wednesday) Hodgepodge

  1. sterlingsop says:

    Your commitment to the banning of assault style weapons is awe inspiring. We don’t have the issues with weapons here in the UK and it is a revelation to me to find that Walmart not only sell guns and ammunition, but the type you describe which would only be available to our armed forces here! Walmart is a supermarket isn’t it? It doesn’t seem real that alongside your daily groceries of bread and milk you can pick up a magazine of bullets too. Good on you for standing up to it!

Leave a Reply

