Writing Challenge–New Year’s Resolutions (Doomsday Redux)


So what are my New Year’s resolutions, given that there is a meteor headed toward the Earth at a mind-numbing speed and is going to crash into the planet and wipe us all out in three month time? I have to think about this after just going through the whole Maya apocalypse thing last month. Seriously?

Well, seriously or not, it doesn’t change my New Year’s resolutions. I resolve to read 100 books this year (again) and perhaps shoot for 125, though I don’t really want to commit to that number. I want to try to see 25 films; since I didn’t make that number last year, I want to try to see more good films this year. I want to try to be a good Peer Coordinator when I’m assigned my first CASA advocates this month or next. I know I’m a good advocate myself. I want to be helpful to new advocates and guide them in their journey with their children.

The biggest resolution I want to make is to take a more activist role in working to get assault-style weapons off store shelves and gun shows as well as large clips of ammunition. This will go a long way to preventing these types of weapons and ammunition from getting into the unbalanced individuals who then use them to commit carnage in our country. I’ve signed petitions, but I need to do more and I am doing more. I’ve called Walmart corporate headquarters to voice my opinion. I’ve visited the managers of several Walmart stores and handed them fliers to ask that they not sell these types of weapons and ammunition and asked that they pass the information on to their bosses. This has been a big step for me since I’m not a confrontational person (think quiet and shy and unassuming), but the horrific events in Newtown, CT and Aurora, CO and Oak Hill, WI and West Webster, NY have shaken me to my core and I can no longer sit back and do nothing. I have to act. My family doesn’t approve nor do to understand, but I don’t care. If I do nothing else in 2013, I must do this. The lives in these places must not have been lost in vain. This is my resolution, whether I have three months or three years.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in New Year's Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Challenge–New Year’s Resolutions (Doomsday Redux)

  1. Well done you for having the courage of your convictions!

  2. Pingback: Five Question Friday–Two Days Late, Oh My! | My Life, Such As It is

Leave a Reply

