The Coming Apocalypse


SnowflakeBefore I get started, I would like to say that I know snow. I was born and raised in central upstate New York, about 50 miles east of Syracuse, the snow capital of New York State. I went to university in Niagara Falls, New York, which also saw its fair share of snow. I lived for over twenty years in Albany, New York where snow is no stranger. I know snow.

I currently live in San Antonio, Texas. San Antonio does not know snow. It barely knows rain. Rain causes havoc on the roads of San Antonio. People forget how to drive in the rain when it does come. I don’t know why, but they do. Accidents sky-rocket when it rains. It’s a crazy place.

It gets crazier when the meteorologist mentions the “S” word as he did last night on the news. That’s right. Snow. There was a chance of snow in San Antonio and environs during the night and into the morning hours. We will definitely have rain, but flurries are possible. We actually had sleet yesterday morning for a bit. That was enough to send people out with their phones to take pictures and post them on Facebook and on the television websites. Never mind that the stuff didn’t stick to the ground or anything else. It was SLEET! We don’t get sleet! This was cause for panic. But now there was even greater cause for panic because there may be SNOW. Just the thought is enough to drive fear into the hearts of south Texans. This is more threatening than the Maya apocalypse. This is a real apocalypse. A snow apocalypse.

Residents of the Hill Country really did actually see some snow. About 1/4 to 1/2 inch. One school district has delayed school opening until 10 a.m. but they will serve breakfast when the students arrive at school. We wouldn’t want the kids to miss breakfast, no matter how late it is. The schools here aren’t open so we don’t have to worry about breakfast.

Out in west Texas, in El Paso, there really was snow last night. They did have to worry about snow sticking to the roads. It was really coming down hard and blowing when they showed pictures on the news last night. They have about 4 inches of snow. No word about whether or not they had to worry about breakfast for the kids.

Not to worry. It is 38 degrees F and it is sleeting in San Antonio this morning but no one is going to be making snow angels anytime soon. All we have is a mixture of sleet and rain and soon it will turn to all rain. Nothing but rain will stick to the ground because the ground temperature is in the 40s. There will be a rash of accidents this morning as people forget how to drive in the rain but that is normal. The sirens from the fire engines and pollice cars up the street have been blaring all morning as they rush off to accidents. Life in San Antonio is normal. There is no snow apocalypse today. Even the airlines are on time. It was all a false alarm. Fun while it lasted, but we can all go home now, people. Nothing to see here.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in snow and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Coming Apocalypse

  1. Nicole Marie says:

    Even in New Jersey, where rain is no stranger, people always forget how to drive when it comes. I think people here forget how to drive no matter what the weather is like. It’s funny to see everyone scramble to gather eggs and milk and bread before a strong snow storm or rain storm. I just kick back with a bottle of wine and pray the power doesn’t go out.

Leave a Reply

