Daily Prompt–My Favorite


What’s the most time you’ve ever spent from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

My favorite person is actually two people, my twin granddaughters. The longest time I’ve spent apart from them was when they were infants and toddlers and they lived in Hawaii and I didn’t see them for months on end, but I really don’t count that because their personalities weren’t really formed and they really weren’t “people.” Yes, they were “little people” but it’s not the same as “people.”

Now they are 17 years old and juniors in high school. They are real, live individuals. They are certified, bona fide “people,” each of them and they are my two most favorite people in the world. Cassandra Jin and Jacquilyn Mae. Each of them have very different personalities and likes and dislikes and differing opinions about things, and I love to hear their views on their world and our world. I learn so much from them about young people and about life. My world would be a much sadder place without these two beautiful young women in it.

The most time I have ever spent away from them is about 12 weeks when they have gone to stay with their father in California or Alabama or Virginia or wherever he happens to be stationed. He is in the United States Marine Corps and he moves every few years. The year before last the girls did not see him because he was deployed to Afghanistan so they didn’t see him for over a year. But they did go out to California to be with him this past summer for 12 weeks. That was hard for me. We were able to email for a while until Cassie’s email link on her Nook broke (Jackie for some reason refused to get email). We connected on Facebook and I wrote to them by snail mail, too. I did call them a couple of times. I don’t like to intrude on their dad’s time with them. He doesn’t have them for very long and I know he wants to do all he can with them while they are with him. But for me, who is used to going out to the movies and breakfast and lunch and shopping with them, it’s difficult to not have them here. We do text a little. too. Jackie is the texting queen. She can text more than any kid I know. Many of her texts are abbreviations or one words like “idk” or “ya” but she texts like nobody else.

I am thrilled when they come home. I miss them so much no matter the length of time they’re gone. I miss interacting with them. I miss their opinions. I miss their silliness. I just miss them.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Favorite People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt–My Favorite

  1. There is so much love in this post. Wonderful.

  2. The Hook says:

    Your love leaps off the screen! Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

