Coach Shoes?!


I am not the most up-to-date on trendy fashions or brands, but I do know that Coach pursues are very popular, although I don’t own one nor do I have any great desire to drop a wad of cash on one. My daughter is a Dooney and Burke gal herself and the only brand name purse I have ever bought was a Dooney and Burke purse for her for her birthday or Christmas, I forget which.

coach sneakersSo imagine my chagrin when I asked the grandtwins what they got for Christmas from their mother and step-dad and they replied, “Coach shoes and hair care products.” Hair care products I understood once they elaborated a little bit. Coach shoes I didn’t understand until I took them out to breakfast the other day and actually saw the shoes. I had imagined some flat pumps with the Coach logo on it perhaps, since they don’t wear heels. (They only own one dress a piece so these couldn’t be dressy shoes.) When they showed me the “shoes,” I was shocked. They weren’t shoes; they were sneakers (or as they are known here in Texas, “tennis shoes”). Coach actually make not one, but at least two different styles of sneakers and the twins each have a pair. I told them to be careful that they didn’t get shot wearing them, though that may happen only if you happen to be wearing the latest model of Air Jordans and live in the Houston area. I’m sure my daughter paid an arm and a leg for these sneakers which is why the twins didn’t get much else for Christmas besides the hair care products. (They have no reason to complain, however; they got Taylor Swift tickets from me that nearly broke my bank account.)

Apparently Coach makes more than just purses. They make luggage and other things besides the shoes. Anything they can put the Coach logo on and sell for a zillion bucks and those who want the trendy name of Coach will buy. And so do Louis Vuitton and Dior and Hermes and many other houses. I was treated to quite an education in branding this week by those Coach shoes. I’m glad my granddaughter like them so much. They claim the shoes are very comfortable (they had better be for what they cost). But I don’t think that I am going to change my buying habits and start buying brand name purses and shoes or scarves or luggage any time soon.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Coach Shoes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coach Shoes?!

  1. Nicole Marie says:

    I’m not one for name brand things, either. If I can find a cute pair of shoes at a thrift store, I’m all over it. It doesn’t matter to me to have a logo on something! My mother owns a pair of Coach sneakers. They’re cute, but I can’t justify the amount of money being spent on something I wear to do my grocery shopping in.

  2. Are they made in china? I would never let my kids have designer clothes. If they wanted them they had to save up and buy them, themselves.

    • mairedubhtx says:

      Probably are made in China. Seems everything is nowadays. These were their only big Christmas gift. It’s the only big brand name they own save for t-shirts they buy at the next-to-new shops.

  3. I can’t stand stuff with logos on it. Yet, somehow, I ended up with four Cars-themed tops on NYE. I think it came down to the fact that the shirts themselves were so cute it didn’t matter that they were walking advertisements (after a fashion). I wore one of the shirts and the jacket yesterday, but these Cars tops? These are the exception!

    • mairedubhtx says:

      You’re forgiven for the Cars tops. I hate being a walking billboard for a brand, too. I have no brand name things except sneakers. You nearly can’t avoid them.

Leave a Reply

