Daily Prompt–32 Flavors


Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

I don’t know how many words I can write about this, but I’ll give it a try. It may be a very short post, but don’t blame me. Blame Word Press for a dumb prompt.

What ice-cream flavor is my favorite? Chocolate, but not just any chocolate. It has to be dark chocolate, preferably with dark chocolate chips laced throughout it. I am a self-confessed chocoholic. The richer and denser and more bitter the chocolate, the more I love it.

Milk chocolate is an anathema to me. It is disgusting. It isn’t real chocolate. It is chocolate for wimps and small children.

Dark chocolate is for true lovers of chocolate. It is good for you. The higher the cocoa content, the higher the anti-oxidants in the chocolate, and that is good for you. The higher the cocoa content, the richer the taste of the chocolate, the true taste of chocolate. The cocoa content should be 70% of the chocolate or higher for the true taste of the chocolate to come through. Chocolate also helps lift your mood. It’s a fact. Look it up.

That’s why I only like dark chocolate ice-cream, or as it is sometimes called, Belgian chocolate ice cream. Sometimes it has pieces of dark chocolate imbedded in it, sometimes not. But that’s not the important part. The important part is that it is DARK chocolate ice-cream, not just chocolate. These also means that it is hard, hand-dipped ice-cream, not soft-serve ice-cream which I don’t really count as ice-cream anyway.

I’ve said about all I can say about dark chocolate ice-cream. If you’ve never had some because you’ve been afraid of it, grow up and try some.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Dark Chocolate Ice-Cream and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–32 Flavors

  1. sterlingsop says:

    I agree with you about dark chocolate being better. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate but when I do eat it I prefer dark to anything else. We are lucky here because we’re not too far away from continental Europe and “proper” chocolate is readily available in the UK. The Belgians and the Swiss certainly know a thing or three about how to handle chocolate!! I love dark chocolate with things in it – ginger being my favourite. You don’t need a lot of it to get that chocolate “hit”, so you could argue that dark chocolate is healthier because you don’t need as much of it to satisfy you and therefore it is less calorific than milk or white chocolate. Hmmmm, perhaps we should start a health campaign on those grounds?!

Leave a Reply

