Daily Prompt–This Is Your Life


If you could read a book containing all that has happened and all that will happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

No, I would not read a book of my life if it meant reading what will happen in my life. I already know what has happened in my life. In fact, I’ve written a book that covers much of what has happened already in my life in my autobiography, Guided To The Straight Path, which is stil in the editing stages. It doesn’t include everything, of course, but touches on the high points (and some of the low points) in my life. I know what they are. I don’t need a book to tell me what they are.

I do not want to know what the future holds for me. I want to feel that I have some control over what happens in my life. If I were to read a book of what will happen in my life, I would feel that I had no control over the events in my life. Maybe that is true to some extent, but I want to feel that the decisions I make have an impact on how my life turns out. I don’t want to feel that I am just a puppet on a stage playing out a script that has already been written for me.

Knowing the future means we have no control. Why bother trying to do anything if “the fates” have already determined the course of our lives? I could not live that way. That would be too depressing for me, whether the future was good or bad or a combination of the two. I don’t like the idea of loss of control, of letting “the fates” decide my future.

So I will not be reading the story of my life, past, present, and future any time soon. And I’m glad it’s not possible.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book of My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–This Is Your Life

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m not sure I’d want to read that particular tome…

Leave a Reply

