The Liebster Blog Award


Liebster Blog Award

nordic-bliss-liebster-award

A gracious thank you to Nicole Marie for awarding me the Liebster Blog Award! It’s a great honor. Thank you for reading (and hopefully enjoying) my blog!

Please check out her blog. She writes amazing poetry and prose. So here are the rules, as copied and pasted via Nicole Marie:

1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2. Answer the questions that the tagger set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them.
5. No tag backs!

Here are the 11 things about me:

1. I converted to Islam about 3 years ago.

2. I have been married and divorced twice. I have no intention of trying it again, but I never say never.

3. I am studying French in an effort to regain my fluency in that language that I once had. It is a bit of a struggle, but I am making a good effort.

4. I have twin 17-year-old granddaughters who are the loves of my life. I do write about them frequently in my blog.

5. I was born and raised in upstate central New York State and now live in San Antonio, Texas, but I miss the East Coast tremendously and may eventually go back.

6. I dislike monkeys. I mean REALLY dislike monkeys.

7. I am a firm believer in stricter gun control laws and am actively working toward that end.

8. I have two rescued Japanese Chin dogs. One is black and white and his name is Ernie. The other is tan and white and his name is Ralphy. I adore them both.

9. I love to make mosaics. I discovered this when I took a mosaic class at the Southwest Art and Craft Institute in San Antonio and found I had a passion for the medium. That class opened up a whole new world for me.

10. My daughter and I have a love-hate relationship. I love her dearly but we seem to have trouble getting along. We disagree on nearly everything and she is very defensive and can be quite rude. I didn’t bring her up that way, but that’s how she is. I also didn’t raise her to be a Republican but she is. I have no idea how that happened.

11. I love Chinese food. I could eat it every night and not tire of it. I also like French food. Mexican I’m not fond of. I live in the wrong city not to like Mexican food.

Step Two. Answering the 11 questions Nicole Marie posed to me:

 1.) What is your favorite memory ever?

I was a small child and it was Christmas Eve. My grandparents were at our house to open family gifts. As they were getting ready to go, I swear I heard jingle bells outside and knew Santa was coming and my grandparents told me to go straight to bed so Santa would come. I was sure Santa was outside. It might have been my uncle outside with bells, but I swear I heard those bells.

2.) What’s one embarrassing thing you did as a child that your parents caught on video and still like to show to all of their friends – and yours?

We didn’t have video when I was growing up. But my parents took a photo of me sitting on the toilet, reading a comic book, and delighted in showing that to everyone.

3.) What was your first job?

My first job was the summer I graduated from high school. I cleaned two houses each week during the summer. One woman was extremely picky about everything. The other wanted her furniture polished with mayonnaise.

4.) What’s your favorite drink (alcoholic or non)?

I love virgin bloody Marys.

5.) Do you think I’m awesome?

Oh course I do. Your poems are amazing and I love your blog.

6.) What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re not blogging/Twittering/social networking?

I love to make mosaics. When I don’t have time or space to work on mosaics, I also like to knit. I’ve been doing a lot of knitting lately. And at night and early in the morning, I read. My goal this year is to read 125 books. Last year I finished 100 books for my book challenge.

7.) What color are your bed sheets?

They are light brown dotted Swiss with white dots.

8.) What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done for love? (This could be any variety of love!)

I paid for my daughter to go to Japan to be with her husband who was a Lance Corporal in the US Marines and was to be stationed there for a year. The Marines wouldn’t pay for her to go there and he had to find a place off base for them to live. They had just gotten married and I paid for her air fare to Japan. Her visa didn’t come through until the day before she was to leave and I had visions of having to drive to Houston to get it if it didn’t come through but it did. I begged her not to get pregnant right away but she did–with twins. She only stayed there 7 months and then she had to come home before he was posted back to the States. I had to pay for that, too.

9.) What’s your favorite book?

Right now, it is the latest Louise Penny mystery, The Beautiful Mystery, a Chief Inspector Armand Gamache mystery. Her new book is due out on August 27, 2013 and I have pre-ordered it already since this one was a cliff-hanger.

10.) What’s the strangest dream you’ve ever had?

I was in my parents’ garage. There was a clock on a table in the garage and my cousin Michael was there and also my grandmother. As the clock approached 6 o’clock, I began to get upset as did my grandmother and my cousin. I knew something bad would happen at six. I had this dream in August 1969. My grandfather died on September 6, 1969.

11.) Do you have a tattoo you regret? If so, what is it? Where on your body is it located?

I do not have a tattoo nor have I ever been tempted to get one. I do have piercings, however. I have my nose pierced, and 5 piercings in my left ear and 5 in my right ear.

Here are my 11 questions for my 11 nominees who are listed below:

1. What is your favorite blog post that you have written?

2. What is your most embarrassing moment?

3. When have you been the happiest?

4. Do you have any piercings? Where are they? Have you let any close up?

5. What is your favorite non-healthy snack food?

6. What cause or movement do you feel the most passionate about? Or do you not feel passionate about any particular thing?

7. Were you bullied in school or were you the bully or neither?

8. Are you in touch with your friends from primary school, middle school, or high school? Or have you lost contact with them? Would you like to find them again?

9. Do you have any religious or philosophical beliefs that guide you in life?

10. What do you hope to achieve through your blogging?

11. If you could travel to any place in the world, where would you go?

And now for the nominees:

Mushy Cloud

The Laughing Housewife

The Hook

Tinman

LeClown

Granny 1947

Tom (Aqua Tom 1968)

Rutabaga The Mercenary Researcher

Lyssapants

Becca 3416

Saradraws

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Liebster Award and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Liebster Blog Award

  1. The Hook says:

    I don’t trust monkeys, either…
    Great post. One of your best!

  2. Nicole Marie says:

    So glad you enjoyed and embraced this! A beautiful thing you did for your daughter; I’m sorry to hear you sometimes don’t get along. My mother and I struggle through something similar…but – as you do – love each other regardless. I can only hope we can meet some common ground one day.
    That dream is such a spooky premonition….I fully believe in those types of things. I just wish I could figure out how exactly it comes to us before it happens. Maybe you have a special gift. 🙂

    Have a great week!

    • mairedubhtx says:

      I had another dream where I was in a car driven my my ex/husband (my daughter’s father). I was riding in the back seat and a woman was riding in the front seat. He was going too fast through the residential areas of the city where we lived and I felt I had no control even though I begged him to stop. In reality, he was having an affair with the art teacher from his school where he taught, cheating on his second wife, while my daughter was living with him. She was highly mortified because everyone at school knew about it and eventually his second wife kicked him out and my daughter returned to my vacant home to live and finish out the school year. I feel it was a psychic dream in that I had no control over his actions and didn’t know about the affair at the time. Spooky, huh?
      Thanks again for nominating me and I hope your weekend was wonderful. I do think your poems are amazing and your prose, too.

  3. Le Clown says:

    Dark Mary,
    How very kind of you, thank you. Le Clown appreciates the sentiments, but he doesn’t do awards, like Marlon Brando, except Le Clown is much prettier than Marlon Brando… That isn’t entirely true, Marlon Brando was quite hot.
    Thank you, Mary,
    Le Clown

  4. Enjoyed reading. Thank you for sharing too.

  5. Ah. Thank you very much for thinking about my blog Mary, but I’m one of those who doesn’t participate in the awards. However, I am grateful for your nomination… and I’ll have a look at the other blogs you have nominated as soon as I can!

  6. This was super interesting. Like you, I have had premonitory dreams. Yours is particularly chilling.

Leave a Reply

