Daily Prompt–Ripped From The Headlines


Head to your favorite online news source. Pick an article with a headline that grabs you. Now write a short story based on the article.

The article I chose is from the BBC online news. The headline reads: Aaron Swartz Investigation Launched.

aaron_swartzAaron Swartz was the 26 year old wunderkind developer of Reddit and RSS who killed himself on Friday last. He was being aggressively prosecuted by the United States government for hacking charges, computer fraud, and wire fraud because he downloaded scientific material from a subscription-only research archive. The scientific research had been paid for by public funds and Swartz believed that the public should have access to the research it had paid for. He was scheduled to go to trial next month and faced up to 35 years in prison and a fine of more than $1 million.

Since he used the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s (MIT) networks to download the materials, MIT’s president has called for an investigation into its role in Swartz’s prosecution. The president praised Swartz’s creativity and idealism and said it pained him to think that MIT played a role in the events that led to his death. Swartz’s parents have spoken out against MIT and the Massachusetts US Attorney who they believe contributed to his death.

Many academics have taken to blogs and Twitter with tributes to Swartz and sharp criticism of Ortiz, the US Attorney, who they blame for Swartz’s death and have released their own research as a tribute to Swartz.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Ripped From The Headlines and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Ripped From The Headlines

  1. Such a talented young man….so sad ♥

  2. I wonder if we won’t eventually find out if there wasn’t foul play involved. This is the stuff that movies are made of: the kid was smart. Too smart. I wonder what else he knew. And who got to him. I do not lean toward conspiracy theories, but I swear this is not over. Do you think I’ve lost my marbles? 😉

Leave a Reply

