Daily Prompt–Toot Your Horn


Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

I have many, many faults. It would take a long time to name them all. But I will say one good thing about me. I am loyal. I am loyal to a fault. I will stick by someone I am committed to or love long after I should have given up on them or should have left them or should no longer owe them any loyalty. That’s what I mean by being loyal to a fault.

I am extremely loyal to my family. I love my family dearly. Not just my daughter and her children and husband, but I also still have strong feelings for her ex-husband, the father of her children. I maintain a good relationship with him, because, God forbid, if my daughter should die, my granddaughters would be in his care and I want to make sure that things are right between us. He and my daughter had their problems and still do, but they are not my problems. My relationship with him is my own. He is a U.S. Marine and I admire him and what he does. It’s a hard life. I am loyal to him, no matter what my daughter may think about it.

I am still somewhat loyal to my first husband. I truly care about him and how he is doing. He is an alcoholic and I worry about him. He is a serial philanderer and I worry that he’ll never settle down and be happy. When his third wife cheated on him, I genuinely felt sorry for him, even though he had cheated on me and on his second wife. He actually apologized to me when I saw him after his divorce from the third wife (with whom I am very close friends) and said he finally realized how much he had hurt me and asked me to forgive him. I told him I had forgiven him many, many years ago. We have a very good relationship. I still care about him and hope he finds happiness.

I care deeply for my brother and sister who still live in New York and whom I don’t get to see very often. My brother is a character. There is no other way to describe him. He is an entrepreneur, involved in many business ventures, most of them legal now. In earlier years, some were not. But I have always stood by him and prayed he would be all right. He and I don’t see eye-to-eye on most political or social issues. He’s the one who, when I called to thank him for the Christmas gift he sent me, called me “an Obama zombie robot.” He deliberately tries to push my buttons. But I love him and still call him and worry about him health and wish him well. I am loyal to him, as I am to my sister. She is three years younger than me. We didn’t get along growing up, but are much closer as adults. We are quite different people, and enjoy very different things and have quite different personalities, but I admire her for her endless devotion to her children and their families. She is the most good-hearted person I know. She is kind, selfless, and has seemingly endless patience. She’s a wonderful grandmother to her growing brood of grandchildren. I am loyal to my sister.

I am also loyal to my cousins who live scattered all over the country and to whom I am quite close. I am particularly close to two cousins from New York, sons of my father’s youngest brother. One still lives in New York, the other lives in Louisiana. We are close in age and grew up together and have remained close all our lives. Sadly, these brothers have had a falling out after their father’s death and no longer speak but I remain close to both. I also keep in contact with one cousin in Massachusetts who is the daughter of my mother’s younger sister and another cousin in Virginia who is the daughter of another of my mother’s sisters. The cousin in Virginia and I are close in age and when I visited there in the summers when I was growing up, I always spent the night at her house so we grew close. One of her boys is the same age as my daughter. The other cousin is a bit younger than me but we saw each other frequently because we lived near each other in the Northeast. She is a nurse and one of the hardest working people I know. She has one daughter and is a dedicated single mom. I love these cousins. I am loyal to them.

I’m loyal to friends. I’m even loyal to friends with whom I disagree on certain issues. I have one particular friend that I have had for many years here in Texas. She and I come down on opposite sides on the gun control issue; I mean, we absolutely disagree on every aspect of the gun control issue. But I support her right to her opinion and she supports my right and we can have reasonable discussions and I remain loyal to her as a friend. The issue has not hurt or friendship. I am also loyal to the third wife of my ex-husband, the one who cheated on him. We have always been close, and although I don’t condone what she did, I remain loyal to her. I understand why she cheated and she is now married to the man she cheated with and is very happy and has a little daughter. I have been to her house and I am happy for her. I am loyal to my friends.

I was loyal to my second husband while I was married to him. Even though I was in a bad marriage, I remained loyal to him. But he was not loyal to me. He forced me to sign mortgage refinance papers when I was not competent to do so. Then he had me served with divorce papers at our home, in our driveway, by a process server while he watched from the front porch, after I had just driven 120 miles from work in Austin, TX and been to see my therapist after my first week back at work from sick leave. He had practically forced me to go back to work from sick leave, he badgered me so about going back, that I asked my doctor to let me go back before I was really ready to return. But he wanted me to go back so that he could serve me with divorce papers when I returned. He had it all planned out. That’s when my loyalty finally failed me and I realized I had been too loyal to a mean, cruel, paranoid, neo-Nazi individual (yes, he really was a neo-Nazi, but that’s another story). He had destroyed the trust I had mistakenly put in him. It has taken me a long time to get over this breaking of trust, but I think I have finally overcome it, but I’m not sure I have.

So my best trait is that i am a loyal person. If you are my friend, I will be loyal to you. I will stand by you and support you ’til the end. You can count on it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Best Trait and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

