Daily Prompt–In A Crisis


Honestly evaluate the way you respond in crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

When a crisis first occurs, I have to say that my first reaction is to panic and freeze. I go absolutely numb and can’t function for several minutes. This happens when I’m confronted with a real emergency or just a very unpleasant situation. I honestly can’t think, can’t move, can’t speak, can’t do anything. I hate this about me. I wish I were calm, cool, and collected when a crisis first occurs, but I’m not–at first.

A few minutes into a crisis, though, the rational part of me takes over and I actually become very good at handling whatever the emergency is. I can think again and act reasonably. I do become calm and rational, and can think clearly and figure out what is the best action to take or is it best to take no action, if there’s been a confrontation, for example. I become the person I want to be in a crisis.

I don’t know why I am two very different people in the face of a crisis. One is a mess for several minutes and then the other is rational and in charge. I have been able to help my daughter through crises, even though I react this way because she tends to panic. She will call me and squeal through the phone, and I know something is wrong and I go into the first mode but don’t know what’s wrong because I can’t understand what she’s saying. By the time I get her to speak in a manner I can understand, I’m in rational mode and can start to think of ways to help her, either over the phone or by driving to her house.

So I guess I can live with the way I react to a crisis. I know the momentary panic will eventually give way to rational thinking and I will respond in the way I really want to. I just wish the rational part would kick in sooner rather than later.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Acting in a Crisis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–In A Crisis

  1. The Hook says:

    I’ve been doing pretty good with our current health crisis, fortunately!

Leave a Reply

