Daily Prompt–Free Association: Messy, Plants, Welcome


Write down the first words that come to mind when we say…

…home.

…soil.

…rain.

Use those words in the title of your post.

The first word I think of when I saw the word “home” was “messy” because my home is exactly that–messy. It is extremely cluttered, because I tend to be disorganized and not put things away. I leave things out and piled up around the living room and dining room (well, and the kitchen, too, come to think of it). There are piles of books because there is not enough room in the bookcases. I have used it all up. It is a good think I have an e-reader now or things would really be bad. My knitting is now taking up space. My French language dictionary is on the floor by the coffee table because I consult it so frequently but I can’t put it on the table because the table is filled with bills and other books and knitting patterns and my knitting. So the word is “messy.”

When I saw the word “soil” I thought of “plant.” Plants grow in soil, and I’ve been thinking a lot about plants lately because my amaryllis plant has finally opened with all eight of its blooms and it is magnificent. But the ironic thing is, the amaryllis plant is not in soil! It is a bulb in a glass filled with stones and water! But most plants require soil. In fact, I want to plant some orange seeds and see if they will grow. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I just got a notion in my head that I would like to see if they would. The oranges came from one of my foster mothers’ trees and I wondered if they would grow if I planted them. My other plants are bamboo and they aren’t in soil either! They are in rocks and water! So why did I think of plants? Go figure.

The third word, “rain,” elicited the word “welcome” from my little brain because rain is usually a welcome thing here in south Texas. We get so little rain and we usually need it so desperately because we constantly live in a drought situation. Then we often get heavy downpours and flooding, but not enough rain to ease the drought. What we need is slow, steady rain over time instead of brief, heavy downpours that are like monsoons. But we’ll take whatever we can get that falls over the aquifer recharge zone. Our water comes from an underground aquifer and our water life revolves around the depth of that aquifer. It governs whether or not we can water lawns or wash cars, how much water we need to conserve. We actually have “water police” who issue tickets to people who are caught watering their lawns or washing their cars on a day other than their assigned day or at the allotted hours. Water is serious business in south Texas. So rain is usually very welcome.

So there you have the rationale behind the three words in the title of this post: messy, plants, and welcome.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Free Association and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

