Book Challenge Update


gone-girlThe second book I read for the Book Challenge was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

It is the day of Amy Elliot Dunne and Nick Dunne’s fifth anniversary. After a breakfast of crepes made by Amy for Nick, he leaves for the day. Later, Nick Dunne receives a call telling him to come home because his front door is open and his cat is outside. He comes home to find this is indeed true and his living room is in disarray, as if there had been a struggle. His wife, Amy, is nowhere to be found. She is missing, gone. Thus begins Gone Girl. In the voices of both Amy Elliot Dunne, who was made famous through her parents who wrote the Amazing Amy book series, in a series of diary entries, and the voice of Nick, alternating throughout the book, we learn the story of the events leading up to Amy’s disappearance from both Amy’s perspective before her disappearance and Nick’s as the disappearance continues and he works with the police to try to find Amy. Of course, the husband always become the first suspect in the disappearance of the wife and Nick is no exception.

In addition, Amy has set up their annual anniversary treasure hunt where she leaves clues in various places that have special meanings for Nick and her, and he must go from place to place until he finally discovers his anniversary gift. This year is no exception. Nick discovers Amy’s first clue, in her blue envelope and paper with a poem directing him to the next hiding place and the next clue. Nick is puzzled by Amy’s disappearance and puzzled by the police reaction in considering him to be a suspect. A search center is set up and Amy’s author parents are flown in to help with the search efforts and PR. And PR they need. Nick does not come across well on TV. He is not emotional enough. He is seen smiling too much. He is too friendly with the searchers. He doesn’t seem to cooperate with the police. The Ellen Abbot Show is having a field day with him.

But there are more twists and turns to come in this missing persons case. Flynn weaves a tale of more plot changes than any other book I’ve ever read, certainly more than I could ever had anticipated. This was a thoroughly entertaining book, very suspenseful throughout. I never knew what was going to happen next and was caught off guard a number of times. I would give this book five stars and highly recommend it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    I’ve heard good thing about this one. Thanks for the rundown.

Leave a Reply

