Daily Prompt–Breaking The Law


Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

The last time I broke a real rule was quite a long time ago, about 20 years ago. I was driving from my home in Pipe Creek, TX, to a meeting in Austin, TX, for a meeting early in the morning, a distance of about 120 miles. The meeting started at 9:00 a.m. so I’d had to leave pretty early and got to the small town of Dripping Springs at about 8:15 a.m. Now you must understand that school zones in Texas are in effect from 7 a.m. until 9 a.m. each school day and Dripping Springs is no exception. Except I never saw any flashing last indicating a school was nearby nor did I see a sign that told me to slow down for a school zone nor did I see a school. I was driving through Dripping Springs at about 40 miles an hour when I noticed the flashing lights of the sheriff behind me so I pulled over. I was scared. I had NEVER been pulled over for ANYTHING before in my life.

sheriff giving ticketThe sheriff got out of his patrol car and walked to the window of my car. He asked to see my license and insurance papers and went back to his car. He came back a few minutes later and asked if I knew why he had stopped me. I truthfully answered, “No.” He explained there was a sign designating this stretch of road a school zone and the speed limit was 35 mph and I was doing 40 mph. I told him that I was new to the area (I was, and I had come this way at my stupid husband’s suggestion) and didn’t know about the school zone. He said he would let me go with a warning since my driving record was clean but I should be more careful in the future. I assure him I would (I would not drive that way again–I would take the Interstate). He sent me on my way. Now I was a little late, but not too late for my meeting, thank heaven, because facing the wrath of the Director of Testing would have been as bad as getting a ticket.

So my brush with the law turned out all right. I was let off with a warning and I’m always very careful to slow down in school zones. I live near several school zones and even though it’s a pain, I know it’s important and also that the police monitor these school zones and they are tough on offender. I also pull over for emergency vehicles because our police have started to crack down on people who don’t move out of the way such vehicles, I live near a police substation so the police patrol cars are all over my neighbor as are the fire and rescue vehicles which have their substation a block from my townhome. I don’t really speed; I keep up with the rest of the traffic on the Interstate and the major highways when I drive out to the country to visit my CASA kids. In the city I don’t really speed; I keep up with the traffic which is going going faster than posted but everyone is. I want to keep from getting a ticket. I’ve never gotten a ticket in my life and want to keep it that way.

Today I’m going out to the countryside. I will be conscious of the speed limits and especially after writing this post, I certainly don’t want to get a ticket.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Breaking the Law and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

