Breaking the Law–Update


As I was writing my post for the Daily Prompt yesterday, Breaking the Law, I had a premonition that I would get stopped for speeding that day on my trip to visit my CASA child who lives way out in the country about a mile south of San Antonio. I did indeed speed on the way down to Adkins to see my child, though not terribly fast and I was slower than most of the other traffic. The same on the way hom, on the Interstate and the highways, all the time watching for DPA cars and police cars. As I got off the Interstate in the city on my way home, I took the shortcut over Medical Drive and was driving along, minding my own business when I was in the middle of the Medical Center and saw the police cruiser behind me flashing his lights at me. “Oh, No!” I thought. Was I speeding? I didn’t think so. But I pulled over. I was dressed in hijabi and looking respectable at least.

The officer approached my car. I had turned the radio down (good move). The officer asked if I knew why he had stopped me and I truthfully answered “No.” He said I had been going 42 mph in a 35 mph zone. I told him I was sorry; I hadn’t realized either the zone nor my speed. He wanted to know where I was going in a hurry. I told him I was going hom before it got dark because I don’t see well in the dark. He asked for me license, which after some fighting with my wallet, I gave to him. He went back to his patrol car and ran it and found no warrants, no tickets, nada. He came back and said he was going to let me off witha warning but to be careful and watch my speed. I talked to himand said I would and I did, all the way home, even when the zone change in the next block to 45 mph, I keep my speed to under 50.

Today when I went out, I manage to stay within the speed limit (or just above it). I’m trying to be good but everyone else is driving faster. I don’t know why I got stopped yesterday and others didn’t. But somehow I knew as I was writing that post that my number would come up again. And it did. Spooky, huh?

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Brealking the Law--Part Deaux and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

