Daily Prompt–I Got Skills


If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

mosaicsI would want to study the art of making mosaics with a master teacher. I have loved making mosaics since I discovered them about four years ago at a class at the San Antonio Southwest School of Art and Craft. I took a class on making mosaics, no knowing what to expect and found that I absolutely adored the medium. It spoke to me. The pieces of colored broken glass tiles were easily transferred to the wood of a plate that I had brought with me and the plate became a piece of beautiful art with vines and leaves and water and stones. Then I made another piece, a jewelry box with my initial, also from broken glass tiles.

I learned how to prepare the surfaces to take the mosaic pieces, how to transfer the pattern to the surface, how to cut the tiles into spaces to fill the spaces, how to glue them attractively into a design onto the surface of the plate and the jewelry box, and finally how to mix the grout and how to grout the tiles on the plate and the box and when dry, how to finish the pieces. When I was finished, I had two beautiful pieces that I had made with my own hand and now I was ready to try more mosaics on my own.

I have even made my own tiles. I bake them from polymer clay and imprint images on them to incorporate them into my mosaic picture. I have been making a tribute to my grandmother and her roses and her Irish heritage with an Irish interlocking circular design and polymer clay tiles with images from the Books of Lindesfarne and Kells and I have used the colors of roses from her garden and her image in the center of the circles. Her name was Rose, so this is a fitting tribute to her. Another project I want to work on is the eagle of St. John from the Book of Kells. This is an ambitious project and I’d like to have a master or mistress of mosaics to help me make this project with beautiful Smalti glass tiles. These are particularly lovely think small tiles that come in many colors that are made in Italy and in Mexico. I haven’t worked with them before and I would like to have someone to guide me in their cutting and placement. I would really like a master or mistress in mosaics for this.

I’ve learned a lot working by myself with my mosaics by trial and error, but with working with the more expensive Smalti glass tiles, it would be very advantageous to have someone who is skilled in working with this medium to help me with my project. This is the project that I would love to have a master or mistress in mosaics to help me. A woman who is skilled in mosaics was going to give a master class about two years ago at the Southwest School but the school could not get the required number of students needed to bring her here. I was so disappointed because I was so looking forward to gaining her advice in helping me with my St. John’s Eagle project. Perhaps they will be able to bring her here another time. I would welcome the chance to have a real expert help me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Master Mentor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–I Got Skills

  1. Nicole Marie says:

    I’ve always been mildly interested in mosaics, but this post perked me up a bit. I’d love to see some pictures of what you’ve already worked on.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mistress of….what? | wordsandotherthings

Leave a Reply

