Lack of Ideas So Here’s My Day Thus Far


I am not exactly inspired by Word Press’s prompt today, which asks if I would condone cannibalism in the face of a shipwreck. This is just so far out of the realm of my imagination that I can’t even begin to address it. So instead of making up an argument for or against the cannibalism situation, should I ever find myself in said situation, I decided to tell you about my day thus far.

I have spent most of the day on the computer, reading blogs and emails. Then I wrote a couple of postcard for people from Postcrossing and registered about five postcards that I received yesterday. Then I signed up for a Webinar to be held at noon in preparation for CASA (Court-Appointed Special Advocates for children) Day at the Texas Legislature on January 30th. Before I did that, however, I needed to download Microsoft Office for MAC from Amazon, because it’s cheaper to get it from Amazon than from Microsoft. So I downloaded it and installed it on my computer because I need it to write my court report for my CASA case that goes to court next month.

Then I registered for CASA Day at the Texas Leg and got my bar code and official pass. Then it was noon and time for my Webinar. There was a lot of useful information in this presentation about lobbying our legislators on CASA Day. Two resolutions are being introduced in both houses acknowledging CASA on that day and we are thankful that they haven’t cut our funding, but we are hoping to get more money so that we can serve more than the 49% of the children we now serve in the foster care system. We hope to serve 57% this year with increased funding. We were urged to tell our stories of how we have helped our own CASA kids and to tell the difference we have made in their lives. We are holding a reception for legislators in the afternoon after our visits to them and there they can view videos of CASA’s work and CASA kids. We could download a sheet of talking points and FAQs from the Webinar as well as the slides. Some of these materials will also be in our packets when we get to the Capitol on the 30th.

The San Antonio CASAs are trying to organize a van-pool so we can travel together to Austin in two vans or so. It’s better than everybody taking his or her own car up there. Our director is organizing this. I’m glad. I just have a little car, unfortunately. We’re all wearing CASA blue that day and we’ll be wearing our badges and buttons. I may have my Peer Coordinator badge by then, too. I’ll just be loaded down with badges.

The other thing I did was to try to call the new foster mother for the younger two children in my case. They were moved from the home they were in to a new home and I only found out about it on Sunday from my other foster mother. So when I saw my caseworker yesterday at the Permanency Planning Meeting for the case, I asked him where they were and if I could have the name and number of the foster mother so I could go to see them, since I’m supposed to see them every month. He gave them to me, but somehow I copied down the incorrect number and had to email him for the correct number this morning. I called this afternoon but got voice mail, so I left a message and hope to get a call back soon so I can plan a visit to see the children.

I suppose I could start writing my court report since we’re going for termination of parental rights (what I recommended the last time we went to court but the caseworker wanted to give the parents another 90 days to get their act together–it was hopeless). So my report is just like my last report except more damaging to the parents than the last one was. The judge is going to be pissed, since he was ready to terminate the last time we were in court but gave in to the caseworker. The problem now is finding a permanent home for these three beautiful kids. The caseworker is working on it, but I don’t know how successful he’ll be. He’s looking at relatives. The problem is that relatives are afraid they will have to deal with the mother, but if she comes around, all they have to do is call the police and have her arrested because she has no rights to the children. But I suppose no one wants the drama. I hope someone wants these great kids. That’s the heartbreaking part of this case.

Now I guess I’ll read a bit before I start on that report or maybe I’ll do some knitting. The light is good today. It’s beautiful and sunny and warm today. A beautiful warm, winter day in south Texas. And that’s my day today in lovely San Antonio.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Day Thus Far and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

