Daily Prompt–Musical


What role does music play in your life?

I love music. I play the piano. I don’t have a piano now. I gave my piano to my daughter long ago for her daughters. I now have a portable keyboard that I play around on periodically. I love it. I can make music whenever I want. I can hear my fingers play the beautiful strains of the classical music that I love and learned many years ago.

I also love contemporary music. I turn up my radio in my car when I’m driving alone and rock out to popular tunes of the day. I enjoy listening to Bruno Mars, Maroon Five, Philip Philipps, Taylor Swift, Rhianna, and others in my car as I do my errands, driving around the city to appointments, going where I have to go. I like listening to the words. I like the music. I like the beat.

Philip GlassWhen I’m home, I listen to classical music. I love Brahms, Mozart, Beethoven, Handel, Mendelsson, Tchaichovsky. I also like Philip Glass. He is my favorite modern composer. He is a minimalist and his music is mesmerizing. I think I listen to his music more than any other. It soothes me and relaxes me. It revitalizes me. I absolutely adore his music. He uses synthesizers and the music is haunting as it repeats the line over and over. I seem to be unable to get enough of the music of Philip Glass.

This is what music means in my life. I love different types of music at different times. I love to play the keyboards. In the car I like popular music. At home, at Christmas I like folk tunes of old English and American Christmas and winter tunes. But at home the rest of the year I like classical, mainly the modern classical minimalist Philip Glass. I have eclectic tastes. But music is a large part of my life. My life would be poorer without music.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt–Musical

  1. The Hook says:

    “My life would be poorer without music.”
    As would mine.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Multiple Meanings | wordsandotherthings

Leave a Reply

