Book Challenge Update–4


The Monster's DaughterI have completed book number four of the book challenge. I read The Monster’s Daughter by blogger Deborah Bryan, who started this book when she was in high school and then finally decided to finish and edit it and publish it. Deborah’s blog is The Monster in Your Closet.

It is the story of 17-year-old Genevieve (Ginny) Connors who lives in a small town in Montana with her father and sister Wendy after the death of her mother. There has been a change in her father over the past year, a very disturbing change. Ginny has come to realize that her father has become a vampire, as is his girlfriend. Ginny likes his girlfriend, but one day she disappears and in her place there is a crystal ball with the girlfriend’s name on it. Ginny believes her father has become a monster, devoid of emotion and cruel.

Ginny has a boyfriend, Joey, whom she dearly loves. They attend the small town high school with Ginny’s friends Summer and Annabelle. Over the Christmas break, the girls decide to go into Billings, the closest big city for an adventure. Annabelle is driving but turns off the highway into a private driveway where there are vampires who try to take Ginny and Summer captive. But Ginny’s father has tracked them and kills the other vampires and rescues his daughter. It is then that Ginny recognizes that Annabelle, too, is a vampire. She also realizes that she has to stop her father somehow from killing people in their small town, where people have been mysteriously been disappearing.

Ginny makes a drastic choice, one she can never take back and one which will eventually destroy both her and her father, but one which will keep the town safe.

The story is well-crafted and held my attention. It is an entertaining story that Deborah tells. I’m glad she decided to publish it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Challenge Update–4

  1. The Hook says:

    Good for you for reviewing Deborah’s masterpiece! She’s one-in-a-million, isn’t she?

Leave a Reply

