Film Challenge Update–1


Silver_Linings_PlaybookThe first film I saw this year was Silver Linings Playbook, a comedy starring Bradley Cooper, Jacki Weaver, Robert DeNiro, and Jennifer Lawrence. Cooper plays Pat Soltano who has lost everything due to mental illness. He has just spent eight months in a mental hospital on a plea bargain and there is a restraining order against him by his ex-wife, Nikki. He has lost his job and his home, as well as his marriage, which he is determined to get back. He moves back in with his parents, his father, played by Robert DeNiro, who owns a restaurant and who is a bookie and is a rabid Philadelphia Eagles fan, banned from the stadium for fighting. His father wants Pat to share is obsession with the Eagles but Pat wants to reunite with his ex-wife.

Pat meets Tiffany, played by Jennifer Lawrence, who is the sister of the wife of Pat’s best friend. She talks Pat into partnering her in a dance competition and in turn she will deliver a letter to his ex-wife. Pat works hard with Tiffany but they have numerous fights and his father feels that Tiffany is messing with the juju that Pat brings to the Eagles’ winning until Tiffany points out that the Eagles and the Phillies, for that matter, win whenever Pat is with her practicing or running.

Mr. Soltano makes a bet with his friend Randy, a Cowboy fan, that the Eagles will beat the Cowboys and that Pat and Tiffany will get an average score of 5.0 in their dance competition on the day of the Eagles-Cowboys game. Nikki shows up at the competition and Tiffany, who is falling in love with Pat, goes to have a couple of drinks in the bar. Then the competition begins. I won’t spoil the outcome of the competition or the aftermath, but suffice it to say all ends well.

It was easy to see how this film was nominated for numerous Academy Awards. It is a fabulous film and I highly recommend it for an afternoon diversion.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Film Challenge Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Film Challenge Update–1

  1. The Hook says:

    My daughter and I want to see this one, but we haven’t had the time to slip away from the sick people at home!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

