Daily Prompt–Through The Window


Go to the nearest window. Look out for a full minute. Write about what you saw.

I looked out my front living room window. I looked for a full minute. I saw the garages of the town homes across the street from my own, the town homes of Building One. I can see the back yards of the town homes of Building One, of those that have back yards. Some, like my town home, don’t have back yards. I see the porch swing on the patio of one of the town homes. There is an empty hummingbird feeder in the tree in the back yard of the town home with the porch swing. It won’t be filled again until probably March, when the hummingbirds start to return in the Spring. They have all gone to Mexico and south to spend the Winter months.

I can see the bathroom windows of the larger town homes in Building One. I can tell they are bathroom window because there are bottles of shampoo and hair conditioner and body cleanser all lined up on the window sill. In the morning in the dark when I take the dogs out for their walks, these windows are all lit up as people make their morning ablutions.

The driveways leading up to the garages are empty now. Sometimes they are filled with the town home dwellers’ second cars. Others park their second cars in front of their town homes on the other side of the building. There are trees in the back yards of these back yards. The back yards of our building, Building 18, have very few years and are smaller than these back yards.

While watching out my window, the garbage truck rumbles down the street on its way to the dumpster behind our building. It’s Tuesday, the first day of garbage pickup at our complex. The our garbage pickup day is Friday. The dogs love to bark as the garbage truck roars down the street much too fast. I always worry that it won’t make the curve at the end of our row of town homes on its way toward the dumpster at the back in the parking lot.

I see the large oak trees down the street behind the mail boxes. They are very pleasant to look at. I’m glad they left many of the large trees standing in the complex. It makes our walks very pleasant.

I can just see the doors of some of my neighbors in my building if I turn my head just so. One has a heart-shaped wreath on the door. I have a heart=shaped wreath on my door, too. I’m glad I’m not the only one.

So there is the view from my living room window. It isn’t very exciting, but it gives you an idea where I live and what I see every day. I have pleasant neighbors and live in a pleasant area. I am content.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The View From My Window and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

