Daily Prompt–Burning Down The House


Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

After grabbing myself (?) and my two dogs, I would make a valiant effort to get some important things out of my house. Some are too big just to grab and I’d have to ask some people to help me move them out but I’d want to save them if I could.

The first thing I’d want to save (and the largest thing) is the dining room china hutch that my father made for my mother and that i now possess. It’s not that it’s so valuable in terms of money (it isn’t) but it has tremendous sentimental value to me because my father built it for my mother. It was something she had wanted for a long time and she was so thrilled when he made it for her. My father had also built one for my sister, and when my mother died, my brother asked if I would like to have this one and of course I said yes. He had it shipped down to Texas along with some other pieces of furniture that my father made and some other furniture that I was shipping from New York. So that’s how it arrived in Texas. It’s been all over Texas and I would dearly love to save it.

I would also like to save a piece of hand-blown glassware from Venice that I acquired on my trip there in 2001. It is a beautiful red goblet decorated with white flowers. The red color comes from the addition of gold into the molten glass as the glass-blowers are making the object. Who knew that gold could turn glass red? It is a beautiful piece and I absolutely love it. It reminds me of a beautiful, magical trip I took and I would want to save it.

Another thing I would want to save is my laptop computer, my MacBook Pro. Everything I write, my court reports for CASA, my blogs, my language lessons, my calendar is on that computer. All you bloggers know how important your computer is to you. When my hard-drive crashed in mid-December and I was without my computer for 3 days while it was being repaired and then having to reinstall all my “stuff”–it was like a nightmare. I told my French studio teacher I was sad about it; she corrected and said I was unhappy, but i said, no, I was sad. That was my true emotion.I would want to save my computer.

I would also want to save my iPhone. That has my more extensive calendar on it. I wouldn’t know where I’m supposed to be if it weren’t for my phone. I love my phone. It has my Groupons and Living Social deals on it. It also has some of my language software on it. It has information about movies on it. I NEED my phone.

The last thing I would grab would be my Kindle Fire™. I read a lot. A LOT. Like at least 100 books a year. On my e-reader. I would be lost without my e-reader. And the Fire also has the Nightly News and the BBC News and games and apps. How would I know the weather in my sister’s town without it? How would I know the news in MY city if I missed the news without it? How would I know the NBC news if I missed it without it? And what would I read? I would have to have something to read even if I had no furniture or bedding, I would HAVE TO have something to read. I need my Fire.

So there you have it. The five things I would need to save from my burning house. Four I could grab, one I would have to have help with but I’m sure the university guys next door would help me move the hutch. The rest I could carry. At least the dogs and I are safe, too. Sigh.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Burning Down The House and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Burning Down The House

  1. The Hook says:

    Very cool and honest answer to an interesting challenge!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt–Burnt | My Life, Such As It is

Leave a Reply

