Daily Prompt–Burnt


Remember yesterday, when your home was on fire and you got to save five items? That means you left a lot of stuff behind. What are the things you wish you could have taken, but had to leave behind?

Oh, yes. There was so much I had to leave behind in my town home that burned down yesterday (fictitiously). I had a lot of diverse things that I would have liked to have saved but I could only save five things. These are some of the things I would have liked to have saved but couldn’t because I didn’t have time and I could only save five.

One Christmas, my daughter came me the coolest gift. I own a tiny plot of land in Ireland. It’s true. I am of Irish descendent (partly through my father’s mother) and I am proud of my Irish heritage. My daughter bought me a one square foot of land in central Ireland. I have a map showing where it’s located and the provenance of the land. She put all the documentation in a scrap book with pictures. So I woud have liked to have taken my deed to my square foot of land in Ireland with me from the burning flames.

I would also have liked to save the many photos I have. I have photos of my family going back to when my mother and father were first married and when we children were small. I have photos of my daughter when she was small and when she was growing up. A lifetime of photos. I also have the spectacular photos of the trip I took to Europe in 2001, when I visited Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, and Croatia. It was the trip of a lifetime, and I took the trip to make up for a trip that my mother refused to let me go on to Italy with my senior class to Italy in 1967.  It had always bothered me, even though my grandmother and aunt offered to pay for me to go, my refused because she had never been to Europe so her daughter was not going to go traipsing off to Europe, no matter that it was a class-chaperoned trip and an educational trip. I never really forgave my mother, and my therapist encouraged me to go myself and give myself permission now to go on the trip my mother wouldn’t give me permission to go on. So I did. I made several scrapbooks full of photos of my trip and I would like to have those memories with me. I would also like to have the photos of the trip my brother took of our ancestral village in Luxembourg when he visited there 15 years or so ago. It is just a small village but it is the village where our great-grandfather came from before he came to America as a young boy and it is a link to our past. So all these photos are important to me.

I also have jewelry that is important to me that I would have liked to have saved. I have Southwest Native American jewelry from my friends at the Jemez Pueblo and from my brother that are special to me. These pieces are sterling silver and turquoise pieces and some are quite valuable. But more than that, they have sentimental value to me because they were given to me by people I love and care deeply for. I also have my grandmother’s engagement ring that I would like to have saved from the flames and a pearl ring that I bought for myself in Barcelona.

I have another piece of hand-blown glassware from Venice besides the goblet that I described yesterday that I would have liked to have saved. It is a blue and white glass dolphin, with swirls of blue and white throughout the glass. I actually saw the glassblower make this piece and it is special because of that. I would also like to save my Irish angel collection, which is quite extensive, and my collection of Painted Ponies™.

I would also like to save my many books, though that may be impractical since there are so many of them, but I have many resource and collectible books that I would like to save. As I mentioned yesterday, most of my current books are now on my Kindle Fire™, so my current reading material is safe but my collectible books and resources were not safe from the fire.

I would also like to save my mystery story book in French Les Portes Tordues (The Twisted Doors) and the accompanying CD and the CD player. I am having a great time reading this story of a young girl and a little boy who are trapped in a old house with a scary old man and then become trapped in an oil painting with twisted doors. I can’t wait to find out what happens to them as I learn more French words and grammar as I listen and work the exercises in the book. I really enjoy learning this way.

My knitting is also something I would like to save that I couldn’t save yesterday. I have a cowl that is nearly finished, an afghan that is started, and a washcloth that I have just started for something quick to do. I love to knit and I would like to save my knitting and my yarn.

I would also like to save my favorite shoes, sort of sandals, I guess. They are black and the toes are exposed but the tops of the foot are covered as are the ankles. They look like something a Roman soldier would wear. They zip up the back of the heel. I adore them. I would also like to save my cowboy boots (this is Texas, after all) and my Uggs. I assume I would have been wearing my Lands’ End shoes with the fleece lining when I fled my home in the fire.

I also assume I would have been wearing my blue leather jacket from Spain. I would also like to save my parka. It is the only really warm coat I own. I would also like to save my jilayba, my overcoat. It is the only warm weather coat I own. I have to have some outerwear garments to wear. I would also like to save my pants and my kurtis (tunics). I have to have some clothes.

I would also save my mosaic supplies. The tiles, the cutters, the wooden plaques, the patterns, the glue, the grout. etc. I love making mosaics and I would love to have my supplies with me so that I could make mosaics. I’d also like my mosaic books to guide me when I work with the mosaics. I’d like the tile baking oven, but that’s not really important. I’m more into the smalti tiles now.

I’d also like to bring the silk and dyes that I use to dye the silk. I can always recreate the stamps for the patterns that I am planning to stamp on the funeral scarves. That’s not a problem. I would like to take the silk scarves and the dyes and buckets with me to do the dyeing. I really should start to do them soon and have them done.

I guess these are the main things that I would miss from my home. All the other things could be replaced pretty easily. Come to think of it, the silk and dyes could be replaced easily, too. Oh well. That’s a lot of things that would have burned up that I would have mourned over. But I would have saved some really important things. Guess you can’t have everything.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Burned Up, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Burnt

  1. The Hook says:

    You’ve really ran with these prompts, haven’t you? Good for you!

Leave a Reply

