Daily Prompt–Think Global, Act Local


“Think global, act local.” Write a post connecting a global issue to a personal one.

A global issue that I’m very concerned with is climate change, particularly global warming. This issue also affects me on a local level. I live in south Texas, an area prone to severe droughts. We secure our drinking water from an underground aquifer called the Edwards Aquifer and our water life revolves around the depth of this aquifer. Each night on our evening news we have a report on the depth of the aquifer that day and the depth relates directly to whether or not we are in water restrictions.

We have been in one stage or another of water restrictions for the past two years non-stop. The drought has been that severe. Even though last year we had more rain than we usually have in a year, it was not enough to make up for the lack of rain the previous year and the aquifer remains down at a level to require water restrictions. Granted, we are now out of Stage Two restrictions and are back up to Stage One restrictions, which means people can water their lawns with sprinklers once a week on a specific day from 8 pm to 10 pm. And we have Water Police who issue tickets (hefty ones) to people who violate the water restrictions and water their lawns on the wrong days or times. Stage Two eliminates the sprinklers and you can only do hand-watering once a week. Stage Three is even more restrictive. We haven’t reached that yet and I pray we don’t get there, but we haven’t had much rain this year so things don’t look good.

Ranchers need the rain and water for their crops and animals. The San Antonio needs the water for its drinking water and people want to water their lawns. The concept of xeroscaping has not made much of an inroad here in San Antonio. People like their grass and their golf courses.

The drought and extremely high temperatures we have during the summers (over 30 days of 100+ degrees F) are a directly result of global warming and climate change. The prairie areas experience severe tornados. The plains areas that come down near us have also experiences tornados that they have not experienced before. A global problem is also a local and personal problem.

I conserve as much water as possible in my own home. I turn off the water when I wash my face and brush my teeth until I’m ready to rinse. Same with the dishes. I don’t do laundry until I have a full load. I don’t have a back yard. My front yard is regulated by the gardening company that cares for the town home complex. I have no control over the watering of it, unfortunately. I have few plants, a few bamboo, that require water. I don’t request water in restaurants unless I intend to drink it. I do want I can to save water on my own. It isn’t much, but every little bit helps. I only wash my car once a week at a car wash place that recycles water.

This is how a terrible global issue, climate change and global warming, is also a local, personal problem, drought and water rationing in San Antonio. I only hope my small efforts help to solve the problem, not add to it. I have called the White House to ask President Obama to specifically address the issue of climate change in his State of the Union address, as he did in his inaugural address. It was one small thing that I could do to voice my opinion on this global problem, one way in which I could act. Think global, act local.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Act Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

