Daily Prompt–Writing Room


A genie has granted your wish to build your perfect space for reading and writing. What’s it like?

Well, the genie has to work within my town home, so he’s a little limited. But I do have a solution for him. I have a loft in my town home that is currently my prayer room. I also have my keyboard in there. What i would really like to have in there for reading and writing is a big, comfy sofa. With lots of pillows

Right now, I read and write propped up by three pillows against the left arm of my futon-sofa in my living room and I must say, it is very comfortable. I can listen to the morning news on the television while I read the blogs and while I write. The light from my living room windows is good for knitting and also good for reading except in the late afternoon when there is a glare from the sun.

The loft would be perfect for writing and reading. I have a floor lamp there and the windows in the living room are high up enough to let in the light without causing a glare in the loft. I could also still have my keyboards there to play when I wanted, and my table to work on my mosaics, too. The sofa would be perfect for me with its pillows for my reading and writing. I use my laptop for writing and don’t like to write at a desk as my back tenses up and I become uncomfortable. I’m much more comfortable with my laptop on my lap (hence the name–laptop). I am very comfortable reading nestled against my pillows on the sofa. If I had a little table for my tea, I’d be all set for a morning of writing and an afternoon of knitting and reading, if I didn’t have other appointments.

Genie, grant me my wish. Transform my loft into the perfect reading and writing space. Hang a few pictures from my trip to Europe on the wall; maybe some of my needlework from the days when my eyes were better and I could do counted cross-stitch. That would make it homey. My prayer rug is there so I would not even have to go far to say my prayers. It woud be simply perfect.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Writing Room and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Writing Room

  1. Nicole Marie says:

    That sounds perfect. A space that holds all aspects of your creative self. I’d love to have a room like this.

Leave a Reply

