Daily Prompt–Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes


You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally? 

Yes, I need to make a major change in my life. I need to clean up and tidy up my space of the flangiprops that populate the living room and dining room, particularly. Those are the piles of books and papers in stacks on the dining room table, the coffee table in the living room (also the knitting projects and the cameras and headphones) and the desk in the living room (also the dog’s medicine and postcards and stamps and mosaic supplies and plants and CD player and CDs and artificial flowers) and the stacks of books in front of the bookcases and on the front of the shelves of the bookcases. In a word, the place is one hot mess. I know where everything is in the mess, but I’m embarrassed to have anyone see it.

When my amaryllis plant was in full bloom with its eight blossoms, I took its picture to post on Facebook. It was on the end table next to the desk, but I put a scarf over the back of the end table and the desk and another scarf over the rest of the desk so it would not detract from the beauty of the plant. Believe me, the mess would have taken away from the beauty of the amaryllis. How sad.

I have to tackle this in increments. There is no way I can make this change cold turkey. There is just too much to do all at one time. I should probably do the bookcases at one go. I should take my books that I won’t read anymore to the Half-Price Book Store or to the library or to Goodwill (I don’t know if they take book, though). There are a lot of them. Many I have on my Kindle Fire™ now so it’s not as if they will be gone. I have several printers in varying states of disrepair. I have to call The Salvation Army to come and take them away. They take printers in any shape. That will clear up a lot of space.

I need to clear out a lot of boxes that have books for my tutoring with primary school students. Some of the books are still in the boxes. I need to open them and put them on the freed-up book shelves. I need a couple of book shelves devoted just to my OASIS Intergenerational Tutoring Program. That would eliminate one huge pile.

I need to buy a cabinet to store my camera and headphones and CD player and CDs and mosaic supplies and fabric dyes and supplies and put them in the loft maybe. Except I use the headphones and CD player with my language lessons in the living room. Maybe a box that I keep under the coffee table, where I also keep my genealogy materials.

My migraine meds are on the desk, too, in easy reach since I get migraines frequently. I need to have it handy. My nutritional supplements for my anxiety are in the kitchen with my fiber supplement that my doctor wants me to take three times a day and my tea and my baguette and croissants and the dog food and dog treats. There is no room for the dog meds and my migraine meds in there. There is too much other stuff.

My living room, dining room, and kitchen are all one big open area broken only by a sink and kitchen bar area. So there is no way I could tidy it all in one day. I would have to do it in increments. I get too tired sorting all these things. About a year ago, I had an organizer come in and she attempted to put things in boxes. It took me a long time to figure out where everything went. It was chaos for a while. I think if I just apply myself and do a little at a time, I can tidy the mess and actually make this a nice space. Now I just have to make myself make the change.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Making a Change, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

