Daily Post–Call Me, Maybe


Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

I have two phones. One is my house phone, a land line, and the other is my cell phone.

I honestly don’t know why I have the land line. I think the only reason I have it is because I need it for my bank. They require a land line, not a cell phone, for my bank account. It is bundled with my cable television and Internet so it isn’t very expensive, so I have it. It is a buzzing nuisance, to say the least. When it rings, the number appears on my television screen, which is a good thing, because it is never anyone I know. It is usually a bill collector (I know because this one particular number has left a message; the problem is this credit card is in collections so why would I pay them AND pay the collections? Duh.) or someone selling something (an 800 number or a private number). Sometimes I get a call from a number in Las Vegas (I know no one in Las Vegas) or some other area code where I know no one. Every now and then, my cousin will call from Louisiana, by his name and number comes up on the television screen (my television is usually on) so I pick up. Ninety-nine percent of the time I don’t answer my house phone. I figure if it’s someone who really wants to talk to me, they’ll leave a message and then I might pick up (that’s happened). Most of the time, they don’t leave a message so I figure they don’t really want to talk to me. It’s just an annoyance and I wish I didn’t have it but I do.

My cell phone is another matter. Anyone I want to talk to has my cell phone number. When it rings, it’s usually someone I want to or need to talk to. My CASA supervisor and my CASA advocates whom I supervise have this number. My doctors have this number. Actually my doctors have both numbers but have been told to call this number. My granddaughters text my cell phone. They usually text rather than call. So does my daughter. She says I talk too long. My sister calls my cell phone. She texts, too. For a while, I was getting a call several times a day on it from the Palmdale area (that’s what the screen said). I never answered it because I don’t no anyone there–I don’t even know where it is–so I didn’t answer it. But I don’t usually get random calls on my cell. That’s why I answer my cell (usually) because that number is for serious “I want to/need to talk to you calls.” Or texts that I need to get, such as my granddaughters needing to be picked up after school.

So I have a love/hate relationship with phones. I hate my house phone (most of the time) and love my cell phone (most of the time). In addition, my cell phone contains my calendar that I can NOT live without and beeps when it is time for prayers and beeps when I have an appointment to go to. I need my cell phone. It also contains my shopping list and my language course that I can practice when I’m waiting somewhere. It also contains my blog and comments, my emails, my coupons, my camera, and assorted other indispensable things. I love my iPhone.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Call Me Maybe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

