My Love Affair With My E-Reader


I have had an e-reader for several years. I am on my fifth e-reader, actually. I had one of the first Kindles™. From the moment I got it, I fell in love with it. It took no time at all to get used to it, to learn to navigate with it. And I could store so many books on it! My bookshelves were filled to bursting as is was with books that I had read and hadn’t had time to take to the Half Price Book Store or library. I bought paperbacks when I could but there were even too many of these on my bookshelves. The e-reader was easy to carry to my appointments where I could read while waiting and I even had a cover with a built-in light for reading in unlit spaces and at light. I went through three e-readers (one I broke the screen by kneeling on it and it had to be replaced; the other wore out) and I was on my fourth.

Then this Christmas, my daughter gave me a Kindle Fire™ for a gift. I was over the moon. I had been wanting a tablet and I loved the paper white of the e-reader and how it is lit so I can read easily at night. I like the idea of the book shelf where I can see the covers of the books and see which are samples. I love to get samples of books and then decide if I want to buy them or not. I do that with recommendations from The Reading Room and GoodReads and BlogHer and other sources. It is a good way to get a feel for a book and determine whether or not you want to invest in a book or not. I like being able to keep my favorite books on my e-reader to reread and put the others in the Cloud. I like being able with the Fire to write a review and post it to Facebook or Amazon if I want. I like being able to share my thoughts about a book with others this way. I usually review a book on my blog in my Book Challenge Update, since I have challenged myself to read 125 books this year and as I read a book, I write a review of the book and post it. People seem to like to read my reviews. But I like to share my reviews with a wider audience, too, and I can do that right from my Fire.

I can do so much with my e-reader than I could with paperbacks. I can read several books at once and keep my place easily, all on one device. I don’t have to juggle multiple books or lose bookmarks. I can highlight or bookmark pages on my e-reader easily. With the touch of my finger, I can look up the meaning of a word I don’t know, which has come in handy with a book I just read that had Scottish words that I was not familiar with.

In my opinion, the e-reader has many advantages over paperbacks. It is very easy to use. It is about the same size. It is portable. It has a dictionary. You can read multiple books at the same time. You can highlight and bookmark. You can get samples of books. I think that an e-reader just can’t be beat!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in E-Readers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Love Affair With My E-Reader

  1. The Hook says:

    Sounds like a perfect match!

Leave a Reply

