Daily Prompt–Karma Chameleon


Reincarnation: do you believe in it?

Well, this is going to be a short and sweet post. No, I don’t believe in reincarnation. I am Muslim and I believe in an afterlife. I believe that we will be resurrected and judged on the lives we led here on Earth. Then we will spend Eternity either in Paradise if we have been among the righteous or in Hell if we have been among the wicked.

I know that’s a rather simplistic view of the afterlife, but for me, it is rather that simple. That is why I try to lead a good life here on Earth now and try to do what is right. I do want to be among the righteous, not among the wicked. I don’t spend a lot of time worrying about it. I do the best that I can do. I know that I am doing the right thing for me. I believe I will be among the righteous. I hope that doesn’t sound presumptuous. But I don’t do anything evil or wicked. I ask God to forgive me my sins, both of commission and omission every morning, and we believe that if we ask God to forgive our sins, He will because He is the Forgiving, the Compassionate, the Merciful. Our God is not Vengeful, not Spiteful. I believe that.

So no, I don’t believe that we have a soul that keeps returning to the Earth and keeps living lives over and over again. That is not my religious belief. But if someone else chooses to believe that, that is their choice. It is not my place to tell them not to believe in reincarnation. But for me, it is not the right belief.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Reincarnation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Karma Chameleon

  1. Mary, I do believe in the afterlife, and part of me, I suppose, believes in reincarnation as well… although to me reincarnation is coming back as the same ‘person’ but in a different time, which I’m not so sure about. I have a strange pull back to the early Seventeenth Century and every now and then something triggers a faint memory within me. I’d have to say I’m 95% certain there is something… but there is always an element of doubt that creeps in as well…

    • mairedubhtx says:

      I know what you mean. I feel a strong pull toward the victims of the Holocaust for some strange reason. But I still believe in an afterlife rather than reincarnation.

Leave a Reply

