Book Challenge Update-9


White NightsI have finished my ninth book for the book challenge. It is another book by Ann Cleaves, a sequel to the first, entitled White Nights. Once again, Jimmy Perez of the Shetland Police is on the hunt for a murderer.

Where the last book took place is the dark winter months, this book takes place in the long summer days and nights of the Shetland Islands, where the Sun never really sets so that the nights are never really dark. Perez has finally asked Fran Hunter, a local artist, out on dates and they have become quite good friends. Fran and famous local artist Bella Sinclair have a joint art exhibition at Bella’s gallery in Biddista, a small community. Unfortunately, not many people are there for the opening of the exhibition, which is disappointing to both Fran and Bella. A guest at the exhibition has some sort of an emotional break-down, crying and claiming he doesn’t know who he is or how he got there. But when Perez tries to help him, he runs away into the night.

The next day, the man’s body, with a clown’s mask covering the face, is found hanging from the rafter’s of a boat shed in Biddista by one of the local men. Perez goes to investigate and the local doctor is called in. The doctor says that he believes the man was strangled and then hanged to make it look like a suicide, but he would like a second opinion. Perez calls for a second doctor but also calls for the investigating team from Inverness again.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Challenge Update-9

  1. TBM says:

    Sounds good. A friend of ours just moved to Inverness. The days in the winter and summer are crazy. When we were in Oslo in July I never knew what time of day it was.

    • mairedubhtx says:

      I don’t know if I could deal with the White Nights such as they have in the Shetlands. Even the detective from Inverness in the book finds them in Shetland to be too extreme.

  2. The Hook says:

    I’m assuming Le Clown wasn’t the killer…

Leave a Reply

