Daily Prompt–Teachable Moment


You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

When I have to learn a new skill, I usually employ a number of different methods to learn it. I have learned to use whatever method I can to help be learn the skill. Let me give an example.

I learned how to knit many years ago. Then I didn’t knit for quit a few years. Lately, I’ve had to urge to knit again. I’d remembered the knit stitch quite well, but had forgotten how to cast on. I’d remembered one way, but it wasn’t a good way to do it, so I looked it up on Google. I read about it and found one site that had pictures that I could follow quite nicely that correct way to cast on stitches. Success!

I also needed to relearn the purl stitch. I found another site with photos of how to do the purl stitch and it all came back to me quite quickly. I was then all set, because those are the basic stitches you need to knit. Everything else is just a variation on those two stitches.

I had also learned to crochet in college but had a far less firm handle on the basics of crocheting. I found a YouTube video on crocheting that really helped me learn the chain stitch, then the single crochet, the double crochet,  and the triple crochet, and crocheting in a round. Watching the instructor actually manipulating the yarn and the crochet hook was very helpful in teaching me the movements of how to do crocheting., but there was nothing like doing it on my own by trial and error. I made many different samples of single work, double work, and triple work, then tried working in a round. Then I felt I was ready to start a project.

So reading, looking at photos and pictures, and watching videos have all helped me learn a new skill or, more to the point, relearn an old skill. But I really made that skill my own again by practicing it on my own after using these helpers. There’s nothing like doing it yourself to get you to learn a skill.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Teachable Moment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

