Daily Prompt–Whoa!


What’s the most surreal experience you’ve ever had?

Did I mention that I believe in ghosts? Well, I do. Ever since my mother told me about an experience she and her sisters had at another sister’s house with a ghost, I’ve been a believer in ghosts. My grandmother was also a believer in ghosts and premonitions and dreams. So I come from that sort of background.

I was in a hotel suite in Phoenix. It had been a long week. I had just learned of the death of my favorite uncle, my godfather, in New York. I was working in Minneapolis at the time and coud not leave to go to the funeral. I was very sadden by his death, which was sudden, but I was glad he didn’t suffer.

I had called my Native American family in New Mexico to make arrangement to see them in Texas the next weekend at a powwow in Temple, Texas. I hadn’t seen them in two years and I was really looking forward to seeing the children I was mentoring again and their parents and grandparents. It would be the first time my husband would be meeting my family and I hoped they would all get along. I was a little nervous.

I went to sleep in the bedroom of the suite. There were two double beds. I had chosen the bed on the far side of the room. I fell asleep. Sometime in the middle of the night, I woke up and saw a little girl in a nightgown standing on the other double bed. I rubbed my eyes. I though, “I must be dreaming!” But I wasn’t. She had dark hair and was just standing on the bed, then she bounced down on her knees. I said, “What are you doing here? You shouldn’t be here. You need to go back. You don’t belong here.” She turned and looked at me and smiled and bounced back to her feet. And then she walked out to the sitting room. I followed her, but she was gone! I went back to bed and was unable to get back to sleep for quite a while, I was so shaken.

Who was this little girl who had paid me a visit in the middle of the night in a hotel suite in Phoenix? I have no idea who she was. I have never seen her since that time. I have been visited by my deceased mother in my apartment in Austin. That didn’t bother me as much as this visit by the little girl. I still can’t get her out of my mind. This was the most surreal experience I have ever had. It was definitely a real experience. I was wide awake. It wasn’t shadows. It was a little girl. I guess I’ll never find out who she was. But I’d like to know.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Surreal Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Whoa!

  1. I’ve never actually seen a ghost full on, Mary, but I have had experiences of them – shadows, figures to my left or right or above, electricals switching on without power… I think these events as more fascinating than surreal now. Your little girl ghost sounds a little spooky, but it’s clear she meant no harm.

    • mairedubhtx says:

      I wasn’t scared. I just assumed she stuck or something, Maybe misplaced. Somehow she wandered into my life. Now my mother wandered in to express her displeasure over my messy kitchen. But I was sick. That was an entirely different story.

Leave a Reply

