Daily Prompt–Shoulda Woulda Coulda


Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.

I know I sound like a broken record. I know I do. This is another short post. I’ve written about this before. But it’s about something I really should do but I don’t for a whole variety of reasons that I justify to myself. I sometimes make a small effort, but it is never quite enough. I need to de-clutter and clean my living room and dining room and kitchen in my apartment.

As I have written elsewhere, my apartment is filled with flangiprops, those great piles of papers or books or objects that seem to collect on surfaces such as tables or desks or bookcase shelves or floors and that never seen to excavated and cleared out. I have quite a number of them in my living room and dining room and even on the kitchen bar that divides my kitchen from my dining room. Most of the flaniprops on the kitchen bar have to do with the dogs–the dog food, the flea treatments, the dog cookies, the night-night sticks, the “big-dog” cookies for Ralphy when he’s been a good boy and done his business outside (yes, he’s still being potty-trained), the remains of the Christmas basket of goodies my brother and sister sent me, the fax machine that doesn’t work (I have to call the Salvation Army to come to take that and the non-working printers–there are three of them–away), spray bottles of carpet cleanser (did I mention Ralphy has a problem with potty-training?), and the drainer with the clean dishes and some dirty dishes in the sink.

I have made an effort this week to clean the floor, to vacuum the rug at least to get rid of the bulk of dog hair and dog food and dog cookie crumb (why Ralphy drags his food all over the house I’ll never know), and I’ve also made an effort to sort through the flangiprop on the coffee table where my bills reside and where all my knitting pattern make their home. I haven’t yet tackled the dining room table but I did remove one envelope and one object from the table, as I am returning a DVD that I inadvertently ordered twice from Amazon (I forgot I had ordered Downton Abbey Season 3 way long ago and then ordered it again; it doesn’t pay to order things too far in advance). So in a sense, the flangiprop on the dining room table has been diminished.

I have cut back my amaryllis plant after it withered in the hopes that perhaps it will bloom again next year if I leave it in water. I don’t know if it will work. Perhaps it needs to lie dormant for a while in a dark place. Perhaps I’ll try that. I also have not tacked the desk yet, not the end table. But soon I will. I have to finish the coffee table first and then the dining room table and the boxes with the knitting paraphernalia in front of the one bookcase. I also need to do something about the boxes under the coffee table, but they contain my genealogical research which I keep meaning to get back to and never quite succeeding in doing.

Shoulda-Woulda-Coulda–I really need to straighten up these rooms and fly right. I know I’d feel better about myself and the house, but I hate to store more boxes in the garage (because that’s what would happen to all the books in the bookcase until I take them to Half Price Books or to the library and to some of the other things). But the de-clutterring has to begin at some point and I’m just about ready to begin.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Shoulda-Woulda-Coulda, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Shoulda Woulda Coulda

  1. mjbardell says:

    I love your posts. A lady told me that a lady where she worked had an amaryllis that bloomed every year on her desk. She kept it in that one spot and never moved it. Towards blooming time she started watering it.

Leave a Reply

