Wednesday Hodgepodge


Welcome to this week’s edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge. So glad you joined the party today…Here we go~

Wednesday Hodgepodge

1. This week marks the beginning of Lent…will you be giving something up or adding anything to your life during this season of the year? 

Being Muslim, I don’t observe Lent so I won’t be giving up anything for Lent. I have the month of Ramadan where I fast during the day. That’s a big sacrifice and that’s my month of giving up.

2. The day before Lent is Shrove Tuesday…tradition states you eat pancakes on this day. In some parts of the world Shrove Tuesday is actually known as ‘pancake day’.  How do you like your pancakes?  Or don’t you? 

I’m not wild about pancakes, but I like blueberry pancakes with maple syrup. Real maple syrup, not the fake kind that they sell in the supermarket. Having been brought up in upstate New York, I was spoiled by the proximity to the “real” stuff from Vermont and Canada and New York.

3. I’m sure there are many, but what is one love song you really love?

I like “I Want To Know What Love Is” by Foreigner, I think. I’ve always liked that song.

4. What are some things you do to let others know you love them?

I do things for them; I buy things for them; I write little notes to them. I always make sure to spend time with them and tell them that I love them. You can’t spend enough time and you can’t tell people you love them enough.

5. Roses…red, pink, or some other colour?  Can you recall the last time someone gave you flowers?  Given your choice would you like to open the door and see a dozen red roses, a dozen purple tulips, or a dozen pink peonies?

My daughter sent me flowers for a birthday, I believe it was, last year. They were lovely. I would like to get tulips. I love tulips. They are one of my favorite flowers. Roses come next.

6. President’s Day will be celebrated next Monday. Does Presidential history and trivia interest you?  Many Presidential homes are open to the public and offer guided tours…Monticello (Jefferson’s home), Mount Vernon (Washington’s home), Montpelier (James Madison’s home), Hyde Park (FD Roosevelt’s home) and The White House (home to the sitting President), to name just a few.  Of those listed, which would you be most interested in touring?  Why?

I find Presidential trivia very interesting. I’ve just finished reading Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, a historical novel based on a real life character with much of it based on fact. It gives a fascinating look at President Lincoln. As far as touring the homes of former presidents, I’ve been to Monticello, Montpelier, and to the White House. All three are very interesting places. Monticello is particularly impressive. And of course, there is no place quite like the White House. I can remember when Jackie Kennedy gave her televised tour of the White House eons ago. I was very impressed by that and have been there twice to tour it–once when I was in high school and once when my daughter was about 11 or 12.

7. Are you good at keeping secrets? 

I am, and I have to be good at keeping confidences in my job with CASA. It’s an important part of my job as an advocate.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow. I won’t be getting anything special, but that’s okay. I am remembering back to when I was in the fifth grade and the boy I had a crush on had his father drive through a blizzard to bring me a box of chocolates. Ah, young love!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    He had his father drive through a blizzard to bring you a box of chocolates? That is so sweet

  2. The Hook says:

    Another great series of shares! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

