My Most Memorable Valentine’s Day


Valentines HeartMy most memorable Valentine’s Day occurred when I was in the fifth grade. I had a crush on Timmy and he had a crush on me. He wanted to give me a gift for Valentine’s Day and he told me he had saved up his money and had bought me something special. I was quite excited. He and his parents made arrangements with my parents to come to my house across town to bring me the present on Valentine’s Day, which happened to be on a Saturday that year. I could hardly wait.

On Saturday morning, we awoke to near white-out conditions. A blizzard had blown in overnight and the roads were covered with snow. My parents tried to prepare me for the distinct possibility that Timmy would not be able to make it over to my house that day. I refused to believe them and set about making chocolate chip cookies for my guest. I had planned on serving fresh chocolate chip cookies and hot cocoa and I continued with my plans, never doubting that Timmy would show up.

Timmy called around noon to say that he and his father would be leaving soon to make the trip to my house, but they didn’t know when they would arrive. The roads were bad and they had to come all the way across town and up a very steep, windy hill to get to my house. I told him not to hurry, to drive safely, that we would be waiting. My parents couldn’t quite believe that Timmy’s father was actually going to try to come to my house. I begged my father to plow our long driveway so that Timmy’s father wouldn’t get stuck in the driveway and my father agreed.

About an hour later, Timmy and his father pulled into our driveway. Timmy had a heart-shaped box of candy for me and a card. The candy had a pillow-top with a flower on it. It was beautiful. I was absolutely thrilled. I felt like such a grown-up to be receiving such a sweet gift from a boy. Timmy and I went into the den with our chocolate chip cookies and cocoa and chocolates (and my brother and sister for chaperones) and Timmy’s father sat with my parents in the kitchen and had coffee with his chocolate chip cookies.

We had about a half-hour together as the snow kept coming down. Then Timmy’s father came in to get Timmy and start the journey home. They had a long way to go back home in the storm. I thanked Timmy’s father for bringing him to see me, thanked Timmy for the candy, and told him I would see him in school on Monday. My parents thanked Timmy’s dad for coming out and urged him to be careful on the way back.

As I later learned from my parents, Timmy had badgered his father so much that he really had no choice but to bring him to my house. Timmy was a very persistent lad. And I’m glad he was. He gave me the most wonderful memory of a fabulous Valentine’s Day and of young love. That was the one Valentine’s Day that I will never forget.

Timmy grew up to be an Assistant District Attorney in Oneida County, NY where he prosecuted those who abused and neglected children. He was married nearly 40 years and had 10 children. He passed away last year from heart disease and was greatly missed and much loved by everyone who knew him.

I’ve had many Valentine’s Days since then, but none has ever topped that day in fifth grade when Timmy and his father made the trip over the hill in the snowstorm to come to my house to give me the heart-shaped box of chocolates.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Most Memorable Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Most Memorable Valentine’s Day

  1. The Hook says:

    That was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

