Six Word Saturday


Six Word Saturday

Six_Word_Saturday

I Am Back From Jury Duty.

My jury duty was cut short. It consisted of sitting in the jury box for all of five minutes while the judge thanked us for our willingness to serve but due to the finding of new evidence the night before the trial, and the need for the defense to see this new evidence, the trial was postponed and we were dismissed.

However, the prosecutor asked to speak with us in the jury room. He laid out the state’s case to us and what he thought would have been the defense and then we discussed the case and asked questions just as if we had heard the case, albeit in a much abbreviated form. The prosecutor took notes of the questions we asked. It seemed to help him beef up where he needed to make his case stronger and also where he needed to question his witnesses and gather more evidence from witnesses. For example, we asked about records of text messages between one of the reluctant witnesses and the defendant. He didn’t have those and we said we would had liked to have seen those and thought he should try to get them. He had Facebook pages but the text messages would strengthen his case considerably. We also advised him on the sentencing phase, if we had found the defendant guilty, which, given the information we had, we probably would have. We would have given him a lesser sentence than the prosecutor was asking for, but that was because we figured that the prosecutor was asking for more than he thought he would get and we would have given him a pretty stiff sentence anyway. The prosecutor took our names and emails and said he would update us when the case went to trial and let us know what happens. It was a really bad, complicated case involving drugs, robbery, and a shooting. There were all “bad guys,” even the victim. There was witness intimidation. It was really a nasty case. I don’t know how they would have fit it all in three days of a trial. I would have though it would take more like five days.

Well, at least I won’t have to go back for three years unless I get called for jury duty for the justice of the peace courts.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Word Saturday

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m glad to hear that’s over!

Leave a Reply

