Film Challenge–3


I saw my third film this year yesterday. I wish I hadn’t but I did. It was Warm Bodies, a movie about zombies and humans after the Apocalypse.

warm bodiesBilled as a comedy, I guess it was, of a sorts. It is seen through the eyes of a young male zombie, R, who doesn’t particularly like being a zombie or remember how he got to be a zombie. He lives at the airport, which is walled off from the city with the other zombies and they try to keep away from the bonies, the skeletons who feed on zombies. The zombies, of course, feed on live people, who happen to wander, for some reason, into their territory.

A group of live young people with guns come from outside the city walls to look for medicine (apparently there has been a plague; that’s why there are zombies–they are the dead from the plague). The beautiful daughter of the Colonel who is in control of the city and her boyfriend and her girlfriend and some others are searching for medicine when they are set upon by a bunch of zombies. R kills Julie’s (the Colonel’s daughter) boyfriend and ests his brain and gets all his memories which makes him feel kindly toward Julie, whom he takes prisoner and tells her in halting zombie-speak that he will keep her safe. They move into an old airplane where R has a record player and old records. Julie is scared of R and tries to run away but she is surrounded by the other zombies; however R rescues her and brings her back to the plane and brings her food. They begin to form a bond.

They find a convertible car in the airport garage and take it for a spin and go to an abandoned house in the suburbs looking for food. Julie takes off in the car and makes her way back to the city, but R realizes that he is beginning to change, to become more human and so are the others. R manages to get into the city and goes looking for Julie to tell her that he is becoming human. Julie misses R and is glad to see him but worried that her father will kill him because he is a zombie.

I won’t tell you the end because it is utterly predictable. True love wins out and all that rubbish. I would give this one and a half stars out of five. It was pretty horrible, but my granddaughters liked it. They are 17 years old. They’ll like anything. John Malkovich is the Colonel. No one else of note is in this movie. It is to be missed at all costs. You will not be missing much. If you go to see it, you will come out of the theater wishing you were a zombie.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Film Challenge Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Film Challenge–3

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    Sounds terrible. I want to see it!

  2. Have you ever seen Dracula, Dead and Loving It? I thought that was a pretty bad movie! I don’t mind the odd zombie movie, but I think I’ll wait for this to be shown on TV! Thanks for the warning!

  3. Best review of a bad movie I ever read!

Leave a Reply

